Oct. 5th, 2003

jianantonic: (Default)
This weekend I went to Charlottesville to caddy.
Originally, I typed, "I went home to Charlottesville..." but I took out the "home" part because after being there for three days, I'm realizing more and more that it really isn't home anymore. I maintained the same residence for almost 19 years, but I've been away for almost 2 years now and going back just feels awkward. I don't recognize half the shit in my parents' house, none of my stuff is there anymore (except the stuff I never really knew I owned when I was there) and only a very few of my friends remain in the area. The real kicker was this: I went into Bodo's twice, and neither time did I see one person I knew. It's usually like you go in there and if there aren't 20 people you know, the world must be coming to an end. I hate to say it but I really am starting to prefer Harrisonburg.
I hung out with Aaron and Elana last night, watching Fight Club and eating Chinese food. OK, Fight Club was not what I expected. Maybe it's just a guy thing, but it bored me. It was too much of the same crap over and over. Interesting plot twist, but when you project what you know after the twist over the earlier parts of the movie, it makes no sense. So, no stars for Fight Club. Sorry Stephen, I know it's like your favorite movie ever, but I'm just not into it.
I had lunch with Camm today. I love catching up with him because there's always something juicy on the horizon in his life. Adam stopped by and we talked baseball for a while. I miss the old Charlottesville crew we had summer after freshman year. Speed Humping was some of the best time in my life. I guess with my job and my apartment and my coming college degree, I'm starting to feel more like an adult and a lot less like a kid. This has its pros and cons, of course. It's like I miss the boredom of summers past...now there's just exhaustion. I'm only 20, I'm not supposed to think like this, I guess...but I'm taking a full load at school (and getting all A's so far, thankyouverymuch), working one full time job and three part time jobs. That's a lot of crap! Thank god for Sundays...the day of rest. Ahh.
Go Cubs. Go Sox. Yay Marlins for kicking Giant ass. Fuck the Yankees.
Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
I left out one thing about this weekend that I wanted to talk about. When I told one of the bridge players about my job at ADF, she said, "Meg, you're far too smart to work at a job like that." My reply: "I'm not so stupid that I would quit a job I love." And just for the record I don't just sell shit, but I'm studying to be a gem grader and a buyer...these are not things you entrust to idiots.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:32 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios