Sep. 10th, 2004

jianantonic: (Default)
Interesting day yesterday.
We had a very odd discussion in my contemporary philosophy class. It started off with a tangent about the pledge of allegiance. I made a comment to the effect of "Why are we worried about two little words so much, while Joe McCarthy's been dead over thirty years and five year olds are being put in time out for not faithfully chanting this oath?" To which a lot of people gasped and one person said, "It's not about brainwashing, it's about respect." Hmm. I have lots to say about this but I don't have a lot of time, so use your imaginations. You know how I feel.

I had a job interview for the Massanutten Front Desk yesterday. Basically I applied when I thought I would quit ADF (I still think I will...eventually...), but when I found out I could work just one Sunday shift each week, it still appealed to me so I went in. The manager greeted me, looked over my application, made a few comments (not questions, mind you) and said to me that I'd definitely be a great addition to the team and she'd like to hire me immediately. So that's good. For now it's just going to be about another $50 a week to pay some bills, but if I end up quitting ADF...who knows...it'll be my fallback. Sigh.

I still want to quit ADF, but I also really don't...it's hard. I just don't feel like anyone there likes me, except Matt, Jay, Randy, and Cheri...basically the sales staff are the people I'm having trouble with, and Colleen...Colleen left our wedding early because she said she had a really bad migraine. I've never had one, but isn't that something that develops gradually and that you can definitely feel setting in? That's what others have told me. I think she just didn't want to be there. Oh well, I'm kinda glad she wasn't, you know? Anyhow, I'm just not happy there. But would I be happy NOT working there? Eh. We'll see. If I ever get up the guts to walk out...bleh. It will be very difficult for me to quit. I need to trust that Jeremy can provide for me if I'm out of work. Or I need Quixtar to pick me up...which means I need to work more on that. We'll see. Anyhow, I've got to go to work.

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
Where's Shelly?
I haven't seen her online or any new LJ posts in a while. Shelly? Shelly? I miss you:-*

I know, I could use email, but I'm an exhibitionist like that. I want the world to know that Shelly and I are having an affair, and I'm testing you all to see if you'll tell my husband. *wink*

Jeremy was told today that he is being seriously considered for the next available management position at RT. That makes me happy - not that I want him to make a career out of restaurant management, but at least it puts a degree of financial stability on the horizon. Something happened today at work that completely blew my mind, in the bad way, but at least everyone (except the perpetrator of the wrongdoing, guess who) recognizes that they should've listened to me and that I have a legitimate right to be PISSED. Which I am, at least when I think about it. I won't be quitting soon...the money is just too necessary...but when I finish school, I will submit a resume to all the nearby schools so I can teach, and I'll also try to follow up on that Monticello gig. I love ADF, but I'd prefer to admire it from afar from now on...

I haven't done my yogalates since the wedding. I should really get back into that...but I come home and I'm so lethargic. I don't think I'm getting enough sleep now that the store is opening an hour earlier. I hate how that place runs my life. Harumph. Oh well. It also pays my bills. Some of them, anyway...

You can tell it's been one of those days when every sentence ends with an elipsis...

It really has been one of those days. I wouldn't say I'm in low spirits...I'm just feeling kind of blase'. And I don't want to go to work tomorrow.

Something awful...I heard on Brent's walkie talkie this afternoon that there was a bad head on crash on the interstate today...and the first thought that went through my head was that I wished *unnamed coworker* would be in a debilitating crash so I wouldn't have to deal with her anymore. Then the next thought was that that would do me no good, because then she'd be showered with sympathy and undeserved well-wishing. And it wasn't until the THIRD thought that I realized I was being EVIL. I wish things didn't bother me so much. I wish I could be a laid back person who didn't care what others think. No, I take that back. I don't really care so much what people think of me, but I will always care what they think politically - and even if it makes me sad, I want to care, because I think it makes me a better person. So I don't really know what I wish. World peace, financial stability, cure for cancer? Yeah...all of those.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios