Nov. 12th, 2004

jianantonic: (Default)
Today what makes me happy is that I have a test today. Normally, that's nothing to jump around about, but it's my LAST test. After this I just have two papers, one presentation, and three finals. The two papers and the presentation should not be too difficult. I will hope. Today's test, eh. I got a 94 or something like that on the last one, and I know my participation and presentation grades will be A's, so I don't need to sweat it. I still expect an A, but he could throw us a curve ball and ask only questions from the readings, which he does from time to time, and guess who never bought the books...

I am also still happy about giving blood. Still uncomfortable, too, but it'll pass. More happy than uncomfortable.

I'm happy about the materializing image in my head of Shelly moving to VA. Oh, I forgot to mention in my comment, Shelly, that if you need to come down for a few days for interviews, we've got a pull out couch now, and with your culinary genius, we'd be fools to turn you away. Oh and I could show you around your new home - I mean, Massanutten Resort:)

I spoke a bunch of Spanish last night with Olga. She's fun. She was asking me about "dichos" in English - sayings that are either slang or just don't translate well (raining cats and dogs, things like that). I don't know how we got on it but I started explaining the bag/cam scale to her. Any caddy people remember that one? Hehe.

Now I have to go prepare for my test, by showering. Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
How do people forget to flush the toilet? Isn't that on the same level as forgetting to pull up your pants? I mean, come on, you've done it probably at least three times a day for your whole life! That's a lot of times! Isn't it second nature by now? Just saying.

I cannot make nachos. Jeremy told me everything to do, and I did exactly what he said, but they came out like a brick chip sculpture held together by solid cheese. It didn't even taste good.

My test today was easy. In classic Abshire fashion, he came up with more test questions than he could resist, so we had ample choices. I was able to find exactly the two questions I had prepared for, and I was out of the exam in 45 minutes. Before the test, this one girl was like, "I didn't study, because this is the kind of stuff you either know or you don't. There's nothing to study." I nodded and smiled, but in my head I was like, "WHAT?!" I mean, this class is pure study material. Every day in class, Abshire tells us what he's thinking about asking us for test questions, and then says exactly how he would want us to answer them. It's very simple. Write it down, and look at it before the test! This is not innate knowledge we're talking about. Jesus. But that's ok, she'll just make me look even better. I predict a 92 on this one. I mean I think my work is worthy of a 97 or 98 but Abshire just doesn't give those grades. To anyone. Ever. So I'll be happy with a low A.

I've also come up with a theory on how I've made it so far with straight A's given that I never study or spend more than an hour at a time reading materials or researching. How? It's simple. Every day, I participate actively in class. I take the classes that I enjoy, I get to know the other students, and I make comments that I know will spark them to speak up. Being involved in the class makes it SO MUCH EASIER to recall the information when it comes time for a test. After all, if you had to stay up until 4am studying to get an A, have you really learned anything? No. The class is only beneficial if the stuff is in your brain, not just in your notes. The folks that stayed up all night probably won't even remember half of what they studied by the time we get the tests back. For this reason, I will never bow down before the "I am an expert on this subject because I took a class" argument. On the other hand, "I am an expert because I remember what's been said on the issue and am going to put it into my own intelligent words right now" is much better:)

Did I talk about my protagonist theory yet with regards to Scott Peterson and OJ Simpson? I'm not sure if I did. Anyway I've kind of decided that the media makes such a big deal out of these high-profile cases that they become like movies in which the guy on trial is the protagonist, and who cheers against the protagonist in a movie? I'm kind of remembering that I did write this before, because I remember thinking last time when I wrote it that Emily G used to always cheer for cheerleaders at basketball games and I figured maybe she would cheer against a protagonist, because she clearly doesn't care about the point of why we're watching...anyway yeah, I did write about that already.

That's enough writing. Now work...

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 02:31 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios