(no subject)
Nov. 15th, 2004 08:13 amYesterday at work I was in a shitty mood. I did not feel like assisting anyone and I pretty much worked on crosswords quietly at my station without talking much. The other girls were doing the same, so I didn't worry so much about not being friendly. We chatted some, but it just wasn't that kind of day. Ashley was pissed at her boyfriend and Christine was lusting after someone other than her boyfriend, and I just had a tummy ache. Anyway, what I did NOT need was jackass customers. One customer two days ago was asking me all these STUPID questions and I kept telling her she'd have to talk to her owners' association because they'd have all those answers. Her boyfriend then says to me, "Are you new or something, because you don't know anything!" I wanted to punch him in the face, but instead I said, "No, and in all the time I've worked here, no one has asked me these questions. It is not my job to answer them." I felt kind of sassy but mostly just offended. So yesterday when this asshole totally disrespected me, it was not good. This guy comes up to me and says he's here to visit his brother and gives me the last name. On the screen are EIGHT key releases (guests have to provide a key release for all of their guests or we aren't allowed to give anyone any information about where the guests are) but NOT one for this guy. So I call the unit to ask if it is okay to send him up. I got no answer, so I told the guy our policy, basically that without permission from the guest, I can't send him up. I asked him if he had a cell phone number to try, and he said yes but he'd just tried. He then asked me to send him up anyway. I said "I'm sorry but I can't. It's the company policy." He looked at me with this really exasperated face. By this point, I figured this guy was being really rude but whatever, so I gave him a guest pass and told him he was welcome to use the facilities for free until he was able to contact his brother. He rolled his eyes, took the pass, and walked away. I had to go to the bathroom, so I left the desk. As soon as I was gone, this asshole turned around and went back and asked Christine for directions to his brother's unit. Christine didn't know I'd just told him we couldn't do that. She did know that we're not allowed. She didn't give the guy directions, but she did tell him the unit number. Knowing just that isn't going to get him very far. There are six different unit 161's here - they have letters, too, and she didn't give him enough info to find it. But he left in search of it anyway. I wasn't mad at Christine, but I was pissed that this guest had disrespected me like that. I was really irritated. I told Christine what had happened, and she said she was sorry, she wouldn't have given him the unit number then, but she didn't know. (Remember, the rules are such that she shouldn't give him anything anyway...but she did...people bend the rules all the time...I don't...but I'm one of the only ones.) Anyway, Wayne hears me saying what an asshole this guy is, and he's like, "Meg, don't let people like that bother you." I said he wasn't getting to me, I just think he's an asshole. I know I'm better than him because I'd never be such a dick - I was just relating the story to Christine. Wayne keeps telling me that I'm obviously bothered by it, and what's really bothering me is that I have never liked Wayne and I really didn't want to deal with him yesterday and having him talk down to me like that was ticking me off when what he should've done was reprimand Christine for breaking the rules. Wayne is a whole other story, but basically what it boils down to is he is a supervisor who is my exact political opposite - not just that we share different views, but where I have studied politics for a long time and decided my views based on a lot of critical thinking, he holds his opinions just because he was raised that way. He's so delluded (sp?). Anyway I was irritated with him all day and this was just the last thing I needed. Wayne left at 3, and the manager, Steve, came in at 4. I like Steve a lot. He's very cool, even though he is also a Republican. I left at 4. The time clock is in Steve's office. Michael was in there, and as I was clocking out, he said something about how I'd been a real bitch all day. I said, "Yeah, I don't know why...I'm just in a mood...I've been pissy all day..." and Steve is like, "Good for you!" He's like that...but anyway I told Steve the story of why I was so irked - A, this guy disrespecting me, which I could've told a story about and then forgotten, except that, B, Wayne was getting on my nerves about it for three hours. Steve responds with "CHRISTINE GAVE OUT THE ROOM NUMBER!? SHE'S DONE! THAT'S IT!" She had gone home at 3, and I was like, "Are you serious?" And I tried to cover for her saying she hadn't given him directions or anything, but Steve was really mad about it. He said, "Don't worry, Meg, I'll tell her that Wayne told me about it." And I said that she'd never buy that because Wayne was telling ME all day to forget about it when SHE was the one that broke the rules and Wayne didn't care about that at all. So then Steve was like, "Oh, then I'm calling Wayne!" That was when I left. And I really hope he does go off on Wayne because Wayne deserves it, but I really hope Christine doesn't lose her job...it's hard to tell how serious Steve was...but I feel bad about the whole thing. And Christine has so many friends at work that if she does get fired, I can't foresee them being all that nice to me...sheesh. Anyway it's a disturbing thing.
So basically, now, I'm hoping that Steve calms down and keeps it all to himself. I don't work today. Tomorrow I work with Olga, Wanda, and Chris, none of whom probably give a shit about any of this, so hopefully I can find out from them, without incriminating myself, what is going on.
Other than that, no real news. Hopefully I'll get my test back in class today and have something to be happy about. Peace.
So basically, now, I'm hoping that Steve calms down and keeps it all to himself. I don't work today. Tomorrow I work with Olga, Wanda, and Chris, none of whom probably give a shit about any of this, so hopefully I can find out from them, without incriminating myself, what is going on.
Other than that, no real news. Hopefully I'll get my test back in class today and have something to be happy about. Peace.