Dec. 22nd, 2004

jianantonic: (Default)
Jer and I had fun last night. I worked until 9, and when I walked in the door, he was sitting at the kitchen table, but quickly hid what he was doing and ran away. As it turns out, he was putting the finishing touches on my solstice present. (We figure it's more appropriate to celebrate solstice with presents than Christmas, y'know?) Anyway, he got me precisely what I'd asked for, but with a creative touch of his own. There was a kiosk set up at our mall with handmade goods from Jordan, and they have these silk bags in all different sizes. He got me a matching set, with a bag of each size (4 in all). One is like a small backpack, which I wanted because it looks so cool and hippie and it will be perfect for carrying my crosswords to work, and I can so see myself wandering around frff with it on. Yay:) In each bag, he'd put different surprises. In the big one were three pilates DVDs. Hint. I haven't done my pilates since my wedding :-/. I was feeling so good, too...then I just got BUSY. But I'm not so busy anymore so I really need to get back into it. In the next size down, he'd stuffed my Napoleon Dynamite DVD:) Then in the next one he had some cute dollar store things - he knows I <3 the dollar store:) And in the smallest one, he'd just put a little piece of paper with a very very very sweet note. He's so good to me. It's so nice to have someone who knows everything about you, because they can surprise you with exactly what you need and want.

So we watched ND, drank beer, ate popcorn, and played with our new stuff. He'd done some shopping for himself, too. He says the last part of my present will be later this week when he'll take me shopping for some clothes. Probably just goodwill, though, cause we are broke. Or maybe his parents are giving us that. I don't know. Anyway, it will be fun. My gift to him is the Girlyman concert next month (as if we weren't gonna go anyway...). Oh, that reminds me! DONNA! You are close enough and it is on a Friday night so you should totally come! Charlottesville on Friday the 21st! I will continue to be on your back about this for some time.

I was talking to Michael at work about how to get discounts for my friends at the skiing. He said that there are lots of ways and while they're technically not 100% in line with company policy, it's common practice and nobody cares. So I have discount cards for everyone for Monday, though I'm not sure what the rates are looking like...we'll see. It's technically holiday season (I told you people to come last week) so discounts aren't supposed to apply, but everyone reassures me that this is a non issue. We'll see. I'll call up and find out I guess.

I can't wait to see everyone on Friday:) Rawr:)

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
I do. Really. Not because it is all about consumerism and losing money (although that doesn't help), but because it brings out the most shallow in people. Especially people who talk a big game about the true meaning of Christmas.

I'm going to offend some people here, but I've been sitting back offended long enough that it's only fair I can dish it out, too. If anyone gave a shit about the "true meaning of Christmas," you wouldn't make a big deal about it at all! You wouldn't buy presents, you wouldn't want presents, you wouldn't do anything differently. Why? First of all, "Christmas" didn't happen on December 25th. Jesus was born during a census, when everyone had to travel back to their town of birth. You don't fucking travel in December when you don't have cars and heaters and the like. Christmas day was assigned when it was to compete with solstice, the pagan holiday. Trees? Pagan. The lights represent fire, and the gingerbread men represent human sacrifices. Burning people on trees. Candles, ornaments, trees...got it? Secondly, if you really care so much about your love of Jesus, you don't fucking need Christmas. This meaning that you go on and on about this time of year is a feeling you should have in your heart every fucking day of the year. You souldn't need a week off of school or work to contemplate it. A real Christian - little Christ - doesn't need a special day to remind them to do and feel the things they should be doing and feeling all the time.

Fuck Christmas.

Oh yeah, no comments. I have to smile and nod when people say "Merry Christmas," so they'll have to keep quiet when I say "Fuck Christmas."

I feel so much better now!
Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 05:20 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios