Feb. 8th, 2005

jianantonic: (Default)
So I was poking around my user info page, and I noticed a lot of people had added me as a friend from the various communities I'm in. That's fine with me - I love new friends - and I added all of you, as well. The only thing is, there are lots of you that I don't know all that well. And you might read my journal and not know what the heck I'm talking about, either. I mean I know one thing about you all, and that's that you're all quite tolerant, since most of my journal is reserved for lengthy rants and bitching. So would those of you that have never actually met me mind posting in here just a little bit about yourselves? That will help me follow your own journals and make me a tad less self-conscious about being watched/read. Thanks:)

Yesterday was a wonderfully productive day. I went for an early walk with Jcow. We turned around after about .6mi because his knees hurt, but we still got over a mile covered altogether. Then we cleaned together in the kitchen. He took a nap, and I was going to cook him lunch, but in grand Meg style, I caught the stove on fire instead. This was Jer's fault, however, because he got a shitload of flour under the burners and didn't clean it up and how was I supposed to know it was down there? So he helped me clean everything up, we decided we could really use a new stove, and he started cooking lunch himself. I got mad at him for not letting me do it for him and he said I was very sweet for caring so much. Cause, you know, there's not a lot I'm good at in the kitchen, and the one day he wants spaghetti, I don't get a chance to make it. Oh well. We ate spaghetti, and I did all the dishes and cleaned the countertops. I wish I could be in a mood to tidy up more often. Both of us are such slobs and I hate living in a mess, but I have no motivation to clean, either. Then Jer went to work and I followed him into town because I needed to get a new bathing suit so I could swim at LeClub. I did, and I also got some spandex clothes for working out. I then walked to Barnes and Noble and spent my gift card on a few books. They were both impulse buys. I bought them off the paperback favorites table, because I figured that was a safe way to go. I got another Nicholas Sparks book, which will probably end up being a lot like the last one I read, but I liked that one, so it's all good. I also got a book called The True and Outstanding Adventures of the Hunt Sisters. The cover was very appealing to me...I know, I know, don't judge a book...yeah yeah. But it's about sisters and I figured maybe I'd identify with it since I have one of those. :) That's the one I'm reading first. So far, so good. It's long, though, and I'm only at page 30. I am optimistic, though.

Also yesterday, I posted to [livejournal.com profile] shenandoahva asking for ideas about hobbies to get into around here. I'm hoping to find someone who lives on the mountain to walk with me in the mornings, but that hasn't happened yet. Instead, some very nice women started talking to me, and I've arranged to meet with one of them this afternoon about starting up a Mary Kay thing. I know - me - Mary Kay - but it's something to do and with all the women at work, it should be easy enough. Anyway I just realized it's time to meet her now! To be continued...

Peace.

Success!

Feb. 8th, 2005 01:41 pm
jianantonic: (Default)
Where did I leave off? Talking to Amanda, the friendly Mary Kay lady. Yes. She offered to take me to lunch and talk about Mary Kay, and I got all excited about it. Not because I wear tons of makeup, but because I know tons of girls that do wear tons of makeup, and I figure, leave a couple of catalogs sitting around the office, and I'll do fine. It also gives me something I can work on during the day when I'm soooo boooored. So I wrote back to her and agreed to a meeting, which just happened. But I don't like to go out of order so back to yesterday.

After buying my badass new workout clothes, I went to LeClub for a swim. Or so I thought. Turns out, I'm like the worst swimmer ever. I was trying to do some lap swimming, cause yeah, fun exercise. NOT FUN. When the eight-year-old in the lane next to me was dog paddling faster, I was very depressed. I also got really short of breath really fast. I didn't want to get in the pool, swim two laps, and get right out, so I kind of floated around in the deep end (diving board was closed and all the kids were in the shallow end) for a while, looking like a megadork, I'm sure. After about 20 minutes, I figured I'd been in the pool long enough not to be looked at funny for leaving, so I turned tail. Next time I swim, it will be with someone I know, so I do not have to fart around by myself. But still, I got a good deal of exercise and didn't have a completely shitty time, so I'm going to call that a success.

I then came home and fell asleep watching Friends DVDs. I woke up in time for the Daily Show, and then Jer got home right after that and we went to bed. I felt icky but was able to fall asleep fairly quickly anyway, and I woke up feeling better. This morning, I went for a walk by myself, cause Jer's working a double today. It was a good walk, but I really wish I could find that minidisc player. That would require cleaning, though...blah. But again, good exercise. When I came home, I started reading the book I mentioned earlier, then surfed the web a bit, which catches us up to what I had to do when I left.

I met Amanda at Hank's for lunch. I was a little worried there'd be nothing vegetarian on the menu, but there was one wrap. It was full of veggies that I normally don't like, but as an ensemble, they were quite yummy. We chatted about Mary Kay and I decided to go for it. So I'm now a Mary Kay consultant, or at least I will be as soon as I get a little bit of training. We're going to set some things up for the next week or so so I can get started. I'm actually pretty excited about it. I have no illusions about making millions or even thousands, but a few extra bucks every month won't be so bad, either, and I'm sure I can get the ladies at work to help me out with that.

I have work at 3 tonight. I'll probably volunteer to work until 11 even though I get off at 9 because Jer won't be home and my raise just kicked in, so I might as well soak it up. I guess it all depends on how I'm feeling at 9, really;) Olga was going to bring me another paper. I like working with her on her writing. She's very smart, so it's not hard. It's mostly just teaching her about English grammar, since it can be very different from Spanish. Knowing what I know in Spanish is certainly helpful, too. Hmm, maybe Olga will work out with me in the mornings...but she usually translates in court starting at 9. I'll mention it to her.

I'm glad that my life has lots of things going on in it now. Keep up the good work, Meggo.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios