Sep. 3rd, 2005

jianantonic: (Default)
I just (finally) finished The Secret Life of Bees. Reading goes a lot slower now that I'm actually working at my job. Anyway it's a beautiful story, and I recommend it to anyone. That reminds me of the Alanis Morrisette song, "You Learn." You know how she says things like, "I recommend biting off more than you can chew to anyone..." For the longest time, I couldn't figure out that she meant "I recommend to anyone biting off more than you can chew." I thought she was talking about directing this biting off "to anyone," and while I didn't really understand what that was supposed to mean, I just assumed it was some ecclectic way of experiencing life. Please recall, I was 12 when I bought that album. I still like listening to it, but only because of the nostalgia. I no longer hold Alanis in the high esteem I once did - especially not now that she does GAP commercials.

The new phones at work are still kicking our asses. It's not like they're regular phones with a different orientation of buttons - they're far more complicated than that. See, for one thing, all the buttons except the numbers themselves (and there are a lot more buttons) are BLANK, and depending what kind of call you're on, or if you have someone on hold, or if another line is ringing, the functions CHANGE. Furthermore, I can pick up someone else's line, but then it will show that that person is on the phone, and my line is hung up, even though it's me that is on the phone. Then when we put someone on hold, we have to remember whose line we were on in order to get the call back, and it's easy to fuck up our officemates' calls while we're fishing for it, too. It's just a big unneccessary mess, if you ask me. One funny thing, though, is that when you get a call from the switchboard, the caller ID doesn't say "SWITCHBOARD" anymore like it did before; now it just says "HO." Hehe.

Back to Bees, because that book really was supposed to be the topic of this entry...
I really, really liked it. It takes place in South Carolina during the beginnings of the Civil Rights movement, but that's not a huge focus of the book. The author did a really great job of using that to accent the story, rather than making it the whole plot like so many others do. It's also not just about bees. The protagonist is a fourteen year old girl, but it's in now way a teenage story. Kudos to Emily G. for recommending it.

I have a bunch of auctions ending today on Ebay. This time next week, I'll be a jewelry-making FOOL. Any special orders? Seriously, colors, bead type, jewelry type...let me know. Most of my things will range in price from $5-$20, with the vast majority hovering in the $10 range. Right now I'm only working with beads, either seed beads or genuine gemstones (some manmade things like fibereye), but I do bracelets, neclaces, rings, earrings...I'll get some pictures up of some things I've made...eventually...

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
I hate it when I have a good idea, then I don't write it down (or do it immediately) and then I forget it. I had a really good idea last night that had something to do with the type of chain you wear a dogtag on - OOOH I just remembered it. I was going to put the watch face that broke off its keychain on it and wear it around my neck so I could keep time at the bridge tournament. Looking at Jer's pocketwatch in front of me reminded me. And now it's in writing. Phew.

Today I did some experimenting with new jewelry pieces. The thing that sucks about it is that I really like to have thicker pieces, but most gems are sold in 15" strands, and that doesn't allow for a lot of layering. Most everything I ordered on Ebay this week is in a 36" strand, but that's because they're not regular shapes. They're all gemstone chips. Pictures are coming, I promise. I'm feeling very enterprising this weekend. I'm conflicted, though - do I go into town and get more supplies, or do I wait until my beads come? The most logical thing would be to wait, but I'm so excited I just want to get started with some of the things I already have. I'll probably go into town today. I can justify it because I have to take some rented DVDs back, and I have a check that I need to put in the bank.

I keep forgetting I have Monday off, too. I was feeling pretty down on myself, because I only just got out of the shower, and other than screwing around with some jewelry (mostly doing and then undoing things until I can decide for sure what I want to do with my limited supply), I've pretty much washed away my Saturday. I want to go to the pool tonight, but I don't think I will, because I'm having such horrible cramps. I hate this part of being a girl - I can get into a good workout routine, but then it's interrupted by menstruation (going to the gym on the rag is simply not an option for the first couple of days - I'm lucky to be able to sit up) and I have to work myself into the habit all over again. I wish I had a workout buddy here. If Cassidy didn't have her three year old, I'm sure she'd go with me, but most of my other friends are either not close enough to the nut to come regularly or they work during lapswim time, which is when I most want to go. Well, Jer's schedule will be changing soon enough. The problem is, it's too easy to back out of going to the gym with him...it's different when you plan to meet someone there, y'know.

Time to move the laundry to the dryer. Peace.
jianantonic: (God)
I just spent the afternoon with another victim of Elizabeth's theft. It was very cathartic for both of us. Lots of this person's belongings were found in my house as well. It is clear to me now that nothing Elizabeth has told me over the past several months is true. There's no youth leader job, there's no new car, no boyfriend - not that I would have cared if there was! It just amazes me how she lied so much about things that don't even matter. I don't like my friends because they have money, cars, and boyfriends. I like them because they're good people - people that are fun to be around, and don't lie or steal. I had already become friends with Elizabeth before she started with the lying and the stealing. Why she thought that would make things somehow better is beyond me. Yes, I have a house and a car and a husband, but it's not a competition. And for her to tell me I'm not a Christian because of how I'm handling the discovery that she stole from me all summer long and everything I thought I knew about her is a lie - ugh. I was very iffy about pressing charges at first. But now that I see how many other people she's hurt (I know of five that say she's stolen from them now), I know that she will just keep lying and taking advantage of everyone else until she gets some help, which she's obviously not getting on her own, because she keeps lying even though she knows she's cornered. If it's not a genuine illness, then it's just pure evil, but I don't want to believe anyone is really evil. It's just that it doesn't make sense. Why fuck up friendships with people who already care about you by making shit up that doesn't matter, and taking shit that you won't even use - like itch cream and mouthwash and a man's razor?! I mean, she took cash, too, so I guess the friendships were doomed for that, but what possesses a person to act this way? You complain about not having anyone and then you drive away the people that ARE there for you. It's completely destructive.

A new police officer is handling our case. The original sgt. that we had been working with is too busy to get around to it anytime soon, but this officer says things are going to get rolling this week. I'm glad, because I just want to put it all behind me. And I want Elizabeth to get the help she needs as soon as possible. As a Christian, I'll forgive her, because I know she's sick, but I'll never trust her or like her or want to speak to her again.

She's been dragging my name in the dirt ever since this started, then turning around and apologizing to me and saying she was being honest with everyone and getting help. Since the person I was with today contacted me, I know that that's not true, and I'm glad I'm not the only one who sees through the lies. I mean, does she really want slander on her list of charges, too?

Thanks, I just needed to get that out.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:15 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios