Oct. 13th, 2005

jianantonic: (God)
Today started off totally shitty, but turned out quite alright in the long run. I'll leave out the bitchfest, because I'm over it, so why relive it?

The good stuff started this evening after dinner. Dinner should have been good, but certain restaurants have terrible policies for training new hires and it's all at the expense of the guests who normally love the place...the food was good, after I got what I actually ordered after three tries. Anyway, Jer, Ray, and I went to see Waiting. It's a great movie, but I think in order to truly appreciate it, you have to have worked in a restaurant or be married to someone who has. Except for the weird manager dude, that flick was dead on. So that was good.

Jer and I continued a discussion from earlier about my hair. I've been thinking a lot lately about changing it, and I'm really excited about the possibility. I haven't had it cut since November of 2002, when I had a longish bob, which looked stupid because I have too much volume to pull that off nicely. I've been growing it since then with the hopes of having long, beautiful hippie hair. And I do. It comes down to my lower back now, even with all its curl (it's got serious curls...more like ringlets than perm-style, though). It looks great, and I love it, but it's a giant pain in the ass. I feel like I've been growing it for so long, I shouldn't just up and chop it off now that I've reached my goal, because if I decide I want it long again, it'll take another three years. But it is a pain. It takes forever to brush, so usually I don't bother (because it's curly enough that you can't tell anyway), but it's always making me itch, or I roll on it in my sleep and it hurts like hell...so I've been thinking of ways to change it while staying true to my original intention of hippie hair.

For a long time, I've toyed with the idea of having dreds, but I figured it'd never fly at work. But when I was having lunch with Tammi yesterday, she was talking about how her husband (well, ex-husband who lives with her still even though they've been divorced for 11 years) is Rastafarian and hasn't shaved or brushed his hair in 13 years. So I asked her if it would be okay if I had dreds in my hair. She said that would be fine. So I really like that idea, but the more I think about it, the more I am wary, because that's pretty much irreversible, and it also renders my hair unacceptable for donation when I do cut it, so I'm pretty much thinking no to that. But after yoga yesterday, Jeremy really started to like the idea. There's this girl there with long black hair like mine, and she had dreds, and it's absolutely beautiful. So he wants me to do it. And I still kinda do. But, I'm nervous about it and don't think I will at this point. Then the answer hit me. A way to have all the styles I want without compromising anything.

I was looking at the CD insert for one of my Ember Swift albums, and Ember has long, braided hair. That's like dreds in that it takes a lot of the hassle out of hair maintenance, but it's good in that I could undo it and also still donate my hair when I do cut it. So here's what I decided. I'm going to go to the salon sometime soon, get my hair done in tiny little braids all over (I'll have to take a good book because I'm sure this will take hours with my hair). I'll let my hair continue to grow, and keep updating the braided look for as long as I like it. Then after FRFF 06, I'll cut my hair into a more appropriate bob than the last one I had, and when it starts growing out, THEN I'll dred it. That way, if the dreds don't suit, it's not such a drastic measure to cut them out and start over. It's perfect. I'm very excited about this. I love that it'll be allowed at work. That's so rad, and totally unexpected.

And [livejournal.com profile] natertots reminded me that I need to get some Chucks. I had a pair when I was a kid that my brother gave me for my eighth birthday. He actually cried when I put them on for the first time. My family's weird about certain things, I guess. But I really want to start wearing chucks again. My style demands it. Yay for not having to wear a uniform every day.

Ok, that's all. It's bedtime.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:50 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios