Oct. 29th, 2005

jianantonic: (Default)
Why am I still awake? It's after midnight! I never do this!
It's probably because I had such a great night, and I'm completely energized. I didn't intend to stay out as late as I did, but time just flew. It was like a really great first date, though of course that's not what it was;)

After work (which was long, dull, and slow today), I went directly to the gym. 25 minutes on the elliptical at a pace I've never managed before, quick shower, quick dinner, spur of the moment CD compilation, and out the door. I'd made plans with a new friend from HUU to go out and do some shopping. We've hung out a little bit in the past, but never for very long, and never just the two of us. I was really glad to be getting out with her - making new friends, the really good ones, is such a fulfilling thing, and it's something I haven't done enough of since moving here. I think that attending HUU has really opened a door for me to a part of the town that I didn't know existed. I don't mean geographically, but politically and socially. I'm so glad to be going back there on Sunday after an absense of two weeks (though I was at the Reston UU last week).

I need to get some CD cases, because I've been making oodles of CDs lately, and I have no way to package them. [livejournal.com profile] harri_cady, I made a couple for you, but need to find a safe way to ship them before I can mail them out to you. Just in case I don't still have it, do you mind emailing me your physical address? Thanks:)

Anyhow, I've been writing out my stories for each song that I burn, and it reminds me a lot of Jeremy's religious philosophy (well, one of many): Every sermon (statement, etc) is heresy for the truths it leaves unspoken. It's like every CD is great but it would take thousands to include all the music that inspires me - what I'm hoping is that some of the folks I share this with will fall in love with the music as I have and go buy all the albums they can get their hands on. These are folk musicians, after all. Not exactly rolling in the money from their album sales, you know.

Anyway, I should try to get myself to bed now. I guess I am a little bit sleepy.

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
It's cold in my house! My plan for the day is to watch The Soup at 10am, go to the gym after that, come home, shower, nap, and then leave for Charlottesville. I need to find someone to go to the Ming Dynasty with me. I've yet to hear from Donna, so I don't know when I'll see her tonight, but she'll be at the concert, too. Yay:) Since tonight is fall back night (sadness, I hate how it's always dark so early in winter), I'm going to be open to some late-night Charlottesvilling. Anyone in the area want to hang out? You should come to the Gravity Lounge for the Robbie/Ellis show, but I'm definitely willing to chill after the show. But I'm coming back to McGaheysville in the wee hours, because I'm taking Jer to HUU in the morning, then spending the afternoon with UU friends and going to yoga.

It's shaping up to be a good weekend:)

I need to scram so I can get ready to go to the gym - after The Soup, of course;)

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
I'm in Charlottesville now. I haven't been able to track down any Cville people other than my parents so far, so I've been hanging out with them. I met Mom at the thrift store where she volunteers, and since she was taking so long to finish up, I decided I would pick out some clothes for myself. And she could pay for them. So that worked out nicely, and I have a bag full of "new" shirts. We went out to lunch together at the Ming Dynasty, my new favorite restaurant, and I was able to save exactly 3 1/2 vegan "meatballs" to have later. They are so good it's almost painful. I was sad the whole time I was eating them because I knew it would be a long time before I'd get the chance to have them again...sigh.

I did go to the gym this morning, although my foot was trying hard to talk me out of it. I went for 25 minutes on the elliptical machine, got my heart up to the target cardio rate, but kept the pace a lot slower than the past few days. I don't remember if I worked out on Monday or not (I'm thinking I didn't), but I have either been to the gym or yoga class each of the last five days, and I have yoga again tomorrow. My mom had good things to say when she saw me today. :) That reminds me, I need to steal her coat for tonight.

I'm trying to get a ticket to the Miami/VT football game next Saturday. Dad has an extra, but my oh-so-considerate brother didn't think about me before offering it to his buddy. So I'm just crossing my fingers that Adrian's friend won't be able to make it so I can go. But then again, I'll have fun watching it on TV, too. But don't tell my brother, because this is good for a guilt trip...

My mother confided in me today something I never thought I'd hear from either of my parents. They're voting for Kaine! Both of them! I almost shit a brick. My parents, voting for a Democrat. The one good thing Bush has done during his reign of terror is to really alienate a lot of Republicans who just aren't down with his style of warmongering. I mean government. Well, no, I don't.

Bridgewater clinched the ODAC championship today, too:) I'm bummed there aren't more games on that I'm interested in today, but I'm happy with all of the recent results. Go Eagles, Go Hokies, And Go whoever's playing Texas and USC.

It's hard to write a coherent update with all the noise in this house. Such is life in the home of a true Southern Matriarch, I suppose. (That's my mom, not me)

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
I had a great time at the Robbie and Ellis show tonight, even though I was alone *ahem*. Remember what I said about saying you'll go to shit? If you're not going to come, JUST FUCKING BE HONEST ABOUT IT. It's far less disappointing that way. I won't be mad - people have different tastes and all - but if you say you're going to come, FUCKING SHOW UP. Or at least pretend for a moment that you've considered my feelings when you decide to essentially stand me up and have the courtesy to give me a phone call, for crying out loud.

I'm not bitching at any one person - there are several folks out there - you know who you are - that said you'd "try and make it." Well, thanks for "trying."

Despite my terrible attitude issues, I did have a great time. Though at the end of the night, I got some terrible, terrible news. And it's made me very sad and I don't want to talk about it. I mean I do, but in a far more intimate way than via blog. So. If you're not one of the people that left me hanging tonight, give me a call, because I really need to talk. It's nothing that affects me directly, I guess, but I haven't felt such a sense of loss in almost a decade. Never mind. I'll talk to my husband about it tomorrow.

I don't have any more concerts on my personal agenda for a while, but Ellis Paul will be in Harrisonburg at the Little Grill on 11/11. I won't be in town, though - but those of you who will be should go, because both Ellis and the Little Grill are awesome. I've decided I'm not going to the Richard Shindell concert in Charlottesville because after reading a review of a recent show of his, I just don't think it's worth the drive on a weeknight to go to a show I'd probably have to attend alone. Not that someone wrote a bad review, it's just that the setlist was short and that's not worth $15 and a drive.

If you think you're one of the people I'm pissed at about tonight, don't apologize or make excuses, because it's behind me and really I'm only making a bigger deal out of it because of the devastating news I got, but do consider that I'm the type of person that expects promises to be carried out and messages to be left when the promises are impossible. Preferably messages several days in advance.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 01:55 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios