Feb. 13th, 2006

jianantonic: (Default)
But it is sooooo worth it.

The two shows yesterday were FABULOUS! Of course, we expected nothing less, but I was so glad John Linn made it down, even though Laura was unable to make the trip with him. To those who didn't make it, I certainly understand the reasons given. I had a blast, though, and I am only sad that you were unable to share in it because it was quite the evening! John Linn fell quickly in love with Crooked Still, which made me quite happy. We hung around and talked to the band a bit afterwards. Rushad remembered me from the last show (aww), but Jer was in a crappy mood so we had some issues to address before show #2. The backstory is that for breakfast, Jer had one little bagel at Bodo's and nothing else because he said "I'm planning on a big lunch." Fair enough. We ordered pizza for lunch, which John Linn and I ate, but when Jer went to pick up the pizza, he made a side trip for donuts and for his lunch, he ate 5 of them. Just donuts, nothing else. No wonder the doodyhead had a headache. Then for dinner, we went to the Hardware Store (actually a restaurant) and all had milkshakes. In addition to Jer's milkshake, his dinner was a piece of Mississippi mud pie. By now, he's going for the world record for sugar intake in a day, and I'm quite worried about the state of his mood for the next show. We ran into Paul and Liz on our way to the Gravity Lounge, and Jer picked Paul's brain about educational options while John and I walked on to secure the best seats in the house (which we did). When Jer came back, he and I had a come to Jesus talk about the direction of his education (actually more about the bad mood issue, which was bothering me) and everything was peachy after that. We all really enjoyed ourselves at the Girlyman concert, and we met up with some other good friends there. Kevin and Julie from HUU showed up and sat with us. It was Kevin's first Girlyman experience, and much like John Linn at Crooked Still, he was in love. Yay:)

So now I'm up because I had to move a car for Chika (a GE person who lives at my folks' place) in the way early morning, and it's about time for me to be thinking about starting my day. Jer is leaving town today, and I probably won't see him for two more weeks. I'm very sad about this, and will probably cry. All the more reason to look forward to moving into our new condo. I'm trying to be vague about it for a couple of reasons - first, I can't say I'm excited about the possibility of cyberstalkers becoming real life stalkers, and second, I don't want to jinx anything. But if you want to know about it, I'd be happy to show you pictures over lunch or something. Just don't ask on LJ.

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
Things are good, mostly.

Jer went back to his side of the mountain today - I miss him terribly already, but we've gotta do this for now so we can sell the house and really get living over here. Before he went, we had a long talk about our new place, what we're going to do with our extra money, etc. It's nice to have options, but the complications just make things that much more stressful. But...we'll make it through. We can't decide now though if we want a 2, 3, or 4 bedroom condo (it's about $10K per extra bedroom). I think 3 would be ideal, but so does the rest of the world, and we'll have a lot more choice with one of the others...but if we go with the 4, we don't have much leftover $$ from the sale of our current house. If we go with the 2, we have lots of extra money and we can do some really nice decorating. But then we may not have enough space. I dunno. We'll be doing some good thinking for the next few days. Two bedrooms is certainly enough...but knowing that we could have more for a really reasonable price makes it hard to settle.

Anyway, enough about that. Work is going well. Options trading is a bitch to figure out, but I'm getting there, and I think I'm on the verge of getting it...really...and the thing is, I don't even have to get it to do my job...but I want to.

I've got plans for every night this week. It's crazy - moving back to my high school town has propelled me back to my high school popularity. AND the folks I'm popular with are EDUCATED and LIBERAL. Rejoice! Anyway, tomorrow I'll be hitting the Jefferson theater with Ben for Elizabethtown. Wednesday I was going to go to the Guad, but I think that's the only day I can meet with my realtor this week, so I may have to wait and do the Guad next week...sorry...Thursday I have a bridge date with my mother (shit, I need to brush up!), Friday is a dinner date with Laura, Saturday I'm volunteering with DI all day (this is actually the training session for the real deal which happens next month), and I'm trying to decide if it's worth it to go to McGaheysville for a few hours on Sunday. If I get to see my Jcow, I suppose it is. And I need to help get that house ready for resale. Eesh.

I really am so happy to be back - but I'd like to get settled already! Too much waiting! Why the eff does it have to take so long to sell/buy a house? :( I need to have a yard sale...c'mon, spring.

A little birdy from the Girlyman inner circle told me that Falcon Ridge invites were issued this past weekend...I wonder when we'll start hearing who's booked...!!!! I know Crooked Still and EFO got early invites, so that's happy. Let's keep our fingers crossed for Girlyman, Tracy Grammer, The Kennedys, Ellis Paul, The Mammals, Jim Boggia, Arlo Guthrie, Dan Bern, Ember Swift...to name a few...hehe. You know, if even a handful of those folks get invited back (and it's a pretty sure bet at least some of them will), I'll be busy busy busy, so it'll probably be best if not all of them go...hehe. I guess we'll start hearing soon.

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
Man, Jer set up my computer right next to my bed, so I can type lying down and under the covers and everything. I may never sleep again...

I spent the evening tonight hanging out with Tad and Chika, the two kids renting from my folks right now. They were asking me about my parents, which led to looking at photo albums from the fifties, sixties, and seventies. I'm such a photo junkie, you'd think I'd be better about taking pictures. Oh well. Anyway...I love looking at pictures of my parents and brothers when they were younger. They always looked so happy (though who takes pictures when you look sad?). Anyway, one set of photos was an album from my great-grandmother Mabel's funeral. All the captions were in what I recognized at Marma's handwriting, and all the pictures really looked like fun. Everyone seemed to be having a blast - there are even pictures of my aunt and uncle swing dancing on the lawn at the service. That's how I want to go. I want to live a complete life, so that you can't possibly feel bad about my venturing on...no deed left undone, no dream unrealized...that would be nice.

Tomorrow before I pick up Ben, I need to clean out my car and also go somewhere to buy a pillowtop for this mattress. There are already about eight layers of blankets down under me, but this has got to be the world's most uncomfortable bed. Oh well. Wish me sleep!

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:52 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios