
My day ended up going slightly differently than I'd planned, but essentially the same. Jer woke up, so I asked him if he wanted to come with me on the shopping trip. He did, so we first went downtown and got brunch together. We checked out the Charlottesville City Market (a farmer's market thing they have here in the summers on Saturdays that I'd managed to never see before...) and bought a really cute dress for Lucy. It'll fit her for about the next three days, but that's long enough to take pictures of her in it so I'm pleased:)
We went to the mall after this, because I needed to exchange a faulty tongue stud and I wanted new pants. I went to JC Penny, which is pretty much the only real store where I've bought clothes for myself in the last year or so, besides Goodwill. I picked out about a thousand things, promised Jer I'd be quick in the fitting room, liked a lot of things but then talked myself out of them because I shouldn't pay $10 for a shirt, which is actually quite a reasonable price, but I was grumpy...so I didn't get anything. Then Jer wanted to look at dress pants for work, so we went to the men's section. I spotted a bunch of cargo shorts on sale for $12, grabbed something I figured would fit me, and tried them on. Success! I love boy pants. So I bought three different pairs of men's shorts after finding nothing that pleased me in the women's section, and Jer liked them, too, so he bought two pairs for himself. The bill came to just over $50 for five pairs of shorts. Not too shabby.
We came home for some R&R next, and I was so tired, I nearly talked myself out of the gym. I ended up buying a train ticket to DC for Friday, because Ahren is coming home from the regional with me, and I can ride home with him, so I won't need my car there. And the train ticket was only $40. I figure that beats what I'd pay between gas and parking in DC, so it's all good. I'm looking forward to this tourney - it's my last regional of the year, as of right now. I might schedule another one at some point. We'll see.
I talked to Ahren for a while to line up the logistics of picking me up at the train station and to make sure he'd bring me back to Charlottesville, then I ended the conversation by saying I was going to head to the gym. I only sort of meant it, but now that I'd said it, I figured I should make good on it, so I went. I probably would've gone easy on myself, except there was this bitch at the gym that I felt I needed to show up. I don't know what makes her a bitch; it was just one of those things I could feel. She probably felt the same way about me. But she kept watching me to see how high I would set the weights and shit, so I set them at my maximums and really pushed myself. I'm still at 120 on the leg press, but I moved up to 75 on the hip abductor, 70 on the hamstring thing, and 65 on the row and lat machines. I did other machines, too, but these were the ones where I increased the weight from what I've been doing. I powered through it, but I feel like I'm going to be sore tomorrow...or in a few minutes....
I did a 32 minute jog on the elliptical followed by 11 minutes on a bike while I finished a chapter in my book, and then I came home. I am le tired now. I get a massage when Roope gets home, on the massage table that came yesterday:)
Peace.