Jul. 16th, 2006

jianantonic: (Default)
The folk scene is oh so different from the non-folk scene...it's been a long time since I've been to a show that was anything other than folk - I mean, besides Robbie's new electric, I haven't been to a show with an electric guitar in it in years. I was ill-prepared for the evening's events. I did know that I would be tired, and would want to sit, so I made sure our group was standing in line well enough before doors to ensure that we'd get one of the four tables in the venue.
Gripe #1: It was hot as fuck outside, and crazy humid.
Gripe #2: People do not understand the concept of a fucking line. Let's see...there are 20 people arranged single-file in the staggering heat outside the venue, and there's no one taking tickets - I'll try the door. Locked? Oh, well then, I'll just stand right here at the door, at the front of this linear arrangement of people. Why are they looking at me like that?**
**Jeremy and Erin were in favor of blocking the door and announcing to people as they approached that they would need to get in line. I, on the other hand, preferred to let them try the door - it's not like it'd open for them anyway - and *then* explain to them that they need to queue up just like everyone else. "Even if I already have my tickets?" "Does your ticket unlock the door? Yes, asshole, I have my ticket, too. Now get in line, fuckwad." See, this method allows you to identify the jerks before you go in, so you can make sure not to seat yourself near them. Blocking the doors wouldn't give people the opportunity to showcase their assholatry. It's a word. ;)
Gripe #3: The band got lost and doors didn't open until 45 minutes after they were supposed to. 45 extra minutes of standing in the muggy outside air with the most annoying family in the universe standing in front of me =/= my idea of a good time.
Gripe #4: Lemme get this straight, Starr Hill. You make us stand outside for 45 (extra) minutes when it's over 80 degrees outside even after dark, you provide only very limited actual seating in the venue, it's a standing-only show so you can cram as many bodies in there as possible, then you don't even have A/C on inside and when I buy a $4 bottled water from the bar, it's not even chilled?!.
Gripe #5: The opening band sucked - seriously. They were terrible. I wanted to slap people who clapped for them. Don't encourage it!
Gripe #6: No one at Starr Hill enforced the no-smoking rules, and it was clear that fake IDs were no matter, either. Fuckers.
That said, there was one, well, there were two, actually, redeeming qualities to the night:
I was in excellent company - well, immediate company, anyway:)
SCOTS was awesome.
Oh, and the people-watching was fantastic. That was some serious entertainment. Lots of party mullets (regular mullet + hair gel), guys with hands down girls' pants, guys with hands down their own pants, middle-aged redneck/professional-types trying to dance with underaged girls, drunk underaged girls making fools of themselves in their own special ways, overaged women trying to pretend they're cool, overaged women's daughters wearing outfits straight from gofugyourself.com, shrieking and hugging each other like they hadn't just seen each other yesterday at summer daycare...yeah...I love how Erin is as jaded as I am at these type of events, and can mock these folks freely. More than once, I said something loud enough to be heard by the offendor, or made a face obvious enough to be seen. What? If they didn't want the attention, they wouldn't have dressed like that. It's certainly nothing like my average folkie scene.

I got home at 1am, and read as much more of my book as I could before falling asleep. I started The Devil Wears Prada on Thursday I think, and I got really wrapped up in it almost immediately. Given how exhausted I was yesterday, I think it's safe to say the only thing that woke me up - at 6:30am no less - was my desire to finish that book. I just closed the cover about 5 minutes before sitting down at the computer, so maybe I'll have the energy to get out and see the film today. It's a good book, definitely, but I can tell from the casting alone that the director probably didn't pay much attention to the details in the book. For one, Merryl Streep is too short, old, short-haired, and not-a-size-0 to play the Miranda described in the book, and Anne Hathaway is too short, thin, and not-blonde to play the Andy that's in the book. Oh well. Normally, that wouldn't necessarily be a sign of trouble, except that half the book is description of physical appearances (and why they're perfect or not), so straying from them will actually change the story. But Erin said the movie was good, and I believe her, because she's willing to come see it again, so I think I'll do that. I can't believe I'm awake, though, and I'm just waiting for a crash - there's no logical explanation for why I have even the energy to type this long-winded account of my last 12 hours. Hmm.

But I'm not tired.
Sigh.

I'll go play bridge now.
Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
I just got back from seeing The Devil Wears Prada. I did like it. But that movie is about as much based on the book as Forrest Gump is based on A Tale of Two Cities. Really. Not one detail is the same. But that was good - because when movies try to be like the book, and miss the mark, that pisses me off. This movie didn't even try, and it was good in its own way, as a completely different story from the one told in the book with the same name. (But the book is way better, of course.)

I've just started reading Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. I've been meaning to read some Ayn Rand ever since I read Confessions of a Failed Southern Lady two years ago, wherein author Florence King gushes about her. Atlas is Ahren's favorite book - in fact, he loves it so much, that he refuses to pick up another book and just reads this one over and over. Seriously, the man has never read another book in his life - though I did send him a copy of Confessions, which was probably a waste of the $.75 plus shipping I paid on half.com, but if he doesn't read it, I'll make him give it to me so I can pass it on to one of the hundreds of others I've recommended it to. Seriously, folks, there is not one person in my readership (vast, I know) that wouldn't love this book. Confessions, that is. I'm not far enough into Atlas Shrugged to make that call yet. It's an 1100-page book, tiny print and large pages at that, so I imagine I'll be working on it for a while. Maybe I can squeeze some lighter reading in there on the way up to FRFF. Jer just finished Janet Evanovich's 11th book, and both of us are ready to start the latest one, so he said we can read it out loud to each other in the car on the way to the fest. Her books are such a quick read, though, it probably won't even last us one whole way. I wish book series could all be printed at once, so we don't have to effing wait for the next one - they take so long! Evanovich releases a new one every year, which is better than the two-year wait for Harry Potter updates, but her books only take a couple hours to finish. It's like I'm some sort of addict in desperate need of a fix. Heh. At least being a book addict doesn't make me smell bad - except when I get so wrapped up in a book that I refuse to get out of bed and shower before I finish it...hehe.

And now I'm starting to crash, as I'd predicted I would.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:54 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios