Aug. 21st, 2006

jianantonic: (Default)
So, bridge yesterday.

I agreed to play with Mike in the one session swiss event. I didn't want to play in a two session game, because I wanted to be on the road after lunch, just in case traffic was bad, I still wanted to allow myself some time to sleep when I got home. So we paired up with a couple from Utah at the partnership desk and entered the 0-300 one session swiss. Since the whole event was one session, we were eligible for overall prizes if we won. We were flight A because one of our teammates was just 2 points shy of life master. No pressure or anything - it's only the second-to-last session of the tournament...haha.

We started out in a 3 way, so we played the first two rounds (of four total) before comparing with our teammates. I felt shaky the first time around, but there were hardly any games - all the scores were parts, and when that happens in a swiss, it really is anybody's game. The second round was much better. I felt really great about it. There was no really notable play, but I did play some killer defense, and I declared one hand in such a way that I really impressed everyone at the table. That always pleases me. When our teammates came back to us to compare, they felt good. After we'd looked over our scores, we determined we'd won one round by 22 and the other by 46. That made for one blitz and one 18-2. The scoring is complicated, but to make it simple, you can't get more than 20 points per round. If you win by 28 or more IMPs, you automatically get the full 20 points. To make a long story short, we finished with a 74. Out of a possible 80. Um, that's really fucking good, in case you were wondering. Our next closest competitor finished with 48. We dominated.

I said goodbye to everyone after that and hit the road at 2. Hunt Valley is north of Baltimore, so I was prepared for a long drive back. I didn't hit bad traffic until I got on the Capitol Beltway, which held me up for around 30 minutes, during which time I called Adam and shot the shit with him. Even though my directions said it would take 4 hours, and I was delayed for 30 minutes, and I SWEAR I didn't speed (much), I still was home before 5. I don't know how I did it. Okay, I do. I did speed. But I didn't *know* I was speeding that much. My odometer is fucked up, which I have to get fixed (this week, I think), and that is messing with my speedometer as well. It never said I was going over 75, but okay, yeah, I probably was. I don't know how fucked up it is, though. Oh well. I'm home.

And I didn't sleep at all last night either. Fucking insomnia. It's been over two full weeks now since my last full sleep.

Peace.

Weird...

Aug. 21st, 2006 04:37 pm
jianantonic: (Default)
I have no idea what some of these are supposed to be, but it's pretty funny.

My Interests Collage! )

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios