jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I just read an article on CNN.com about this chick who'd been mistreated in jail, and in the last paragraph of the article, it says why she was in jail in the first place: for having sex while HIV positive. Whoa. Granted, that's probably not a great idea, but I hope there was more to it than that! Ok, it should be illegal to knowingly have unprotected sex without telling your partner that you have an STD, but damn. That's like lobotomizing pyschiatric patients. Maybe not quite but to me, it falls on the same plane. Shit.

I made a bunch more bracelets. I'm going to sell them on ebay, but I'll offer them to my friends at a price of $10. You might be able to get them cheaper on ebay, but I'm hoping not! :) Plus I'll do customized colors and sizes. They totally kick ass. I'd sell them cheaper, but it takes me a few hours to finish one, so that's not really what I want to do right now.

I'm working an even 40 hours this week at the nut. That pleases me. What doesn't please me is what happened yesterday when Jer went in to get my paycheck. He couldn't find it, and Jay was just like, "You'll have to talk to Randy." I hope that doesn't mean they're trying to withhold it. Randy wouldn't do that, but Colleen would. Then Jer wanted to look at the schedule to see when Janet was off so I could go in and not deal with her. Janet asked him what he was doing, and he said "just glancing at the schedule." Then she yanked it away and said "you're not on it." Why are people so RUDE? Sheesh. Also, Jer went into .com yesterday. He worked a little bit, but when he looked for his paycheck, it wasn't there. Now that is NOT COOL. If his isn't there, I'm thinking neither is mine. We're talking about $800 between them. See why I hate that place?

Anyhow, I need to calm down. I don't even work there anymore and it's still giving me fits! I had a horrible dream about Janet coming to my house, getting in a screaming match with me, and then having a heart attack and dying and me having to deal with that, even though her death would probably make me smile. I hope when she gets to heaven (I'm a universal restorationist, unfortunately) my grandmother kicks her ass. :)

In other news, this Sunday there is a concert at the Gravity Lounge that I'm going to with Emily V. It's Christine Lavin - I've never heard her but apparently she's good so I'll have to check it out. Plus the Gravity Lounge just KICKS ASS. And remember the camping trip - which I am SO excited about. Rah!

Peace y'all.

Date: 2004-10-07 02:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Dude! Having sex while HIV positive is assault with a deadly weapon! It's like inviting your friend over and feeding them poison. "I guess he just couldn't hold his arsenic." Serious business.

If her partner knew the risks involved, and they used protection, and blah blah blah, then I could see where it would be different. But still.

Date: 2004-10-07 07:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
But you can't make something like that illegal. There have to be conditions - because millions of people are HIV positive and don't know it. So can we punish them for not getting a test? If so, does that mean anyone who doesn't get tested for HIV is breaking the law, or only the people who do have it and aren't tested? The only way it should be made illegal is to have sex with someone without telling them that you have HIV, in the case that you know you are HIV positive.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:07 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios