(no subject)
Mar. 14th, 2012 05:30 pmWalking back to my hotel from lunch, I was waiting to cross the street at a crosswalk that crossed a busy four-lane road. I had a don't walk signal, and I was happy to wait for the light to change. Then a driver in the closest lane stopped to let me cross. She pulled her car to a halt in the middle of the intersection and started gesturing for me to go. Never mind that cars were still speeding through the other three lanes. When I didn't go, she got increasingly frustrated with me, rolling her eyes and making her "JUST GO!" gestures even more urgently. I get that she was trying to be polite and all, but what she really did was encourage me to risk death while jaywalking. Kind of the opposite of polite.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-15 02:36 am (UTC)