about last night...
Oct. 18th, 2004 09:33 amI had the WEIRDEST dream. First, my parents were looking to buy some timeshares in Elkton of all places (there are no timeshares in Elkton, but if there were, they would suck). The ones in my dream were quite nice, though. Bored with the sales pitch, I slipped out and went to Solace, where I didn't find Barb, but Phyllis was there and let me in. The store was different - in the dream it was much larger, and more of a gallery for various crafts. I asked Phyllis if she thought I could sell my bracelets in there, to which she said yes, and offered me a job. We talked about that for a while, and then a bunch of 12 year old kids came in to hang with Phyllis. I stuck around and talked with the girls about boys while we ate cookies and drank punch. Then Phyllis went into the back room, and all the kids got really excited and said that it was "Sad Time," and they all ran to the back and sat on this circular couch. I was not interested in participating, so two other girls and I stayed out in the front talking about the boys they liked. But we could see what was going on for Sad Time. Apparently, this was a ritual every Monday, and the kids generally worshiped it. Phyllis came out dressed in a flowing princess gown, and this room full of toilets kind of glided out into the open space. The toilets were arranged in a circle, facing out from each other, each with a bucket full of food coloring in front of it, as well as a lever. Phyllis pulled the lever, and the toilets started spinning. The room was very tense with anticipation. She chose one, poured food coloring all over it, then sat down and peed. Actually I can't remember now if she did #1 or #2, but I think it was just #1, because I woke up having to pee, and that's usually how toilets get into my dreams (they are a recurring theme). Anyway, she finished, got up, the toilet room went back to its hole in the wall, the kids rejoiced, and Sad Time was over. The kids eventually went home when their parents pulled up to get them, I talked to Phyllis just a bit longer, and then Jer came and got me. I told him about what had happened. I was just as confused and amazed by it in my dream as I would have been if it had actually happened. In the dream, I kept telling him, "This sounds like I'm describing a dream but it REALLY HAPPENED! This is what they did!" And not only Jer, but I shared that story with a lot of people, each time describing that it wasn't a dream. Isn't that weird? Anyway, that was it. Back to the toilet thing - toilets and my toilet anxiety are a constant presence in my dreams. Usually I dream (when in real life I do have to go) that I have to pee but I can never find a suitable toilet. They are either really gross or out in the open somewhere, so that if I actually peed, I'd have to pee in front of lots of people. I hate that I don't just wake the fuck up when I have to tinkle. I don't know if I can communicate just how much these dreams terrify me. Not now, I mean, I'm not scared about the fact that I have the dreams, it's just that while I am dreaming, I am very nervous about it. Anyway last night's dream was not so nerve-wrecking. I would appreciate, though, if the psych majors in my audience kept their comments to themselves;)
Oh, to explain Barb and Phyllis. Barb is the woman who owns Solace, the silk store where I got my wedding dress. Phyllis is her good friend and assistant. They both set up tables at Massanutten for the wine tasting, so that's how I know them.
I wonder why it was called Sad Time in my dream if everyone was so excited about it? Maybe it's just sad that they'd get excited about watching a woman take a leak. Who knows?
So that was my crazy dream.
In real life news, the election is 15 days away. That is just a bit more than two weeks. Maybe this is where the anxiety of my dreams comes from. I can't wait - I really think Kerry will win - but Gore won in 2000, so I guess I have to hope for more than that. I am encouraged by the fact that all the Bush people I've argued with use the argument, "Kerry may be in the lead now, but Bush has something up his sleeve - he'll pull it out just in time and make a surge." Like they know. If that's their best reassurance, I feel good.
My parents have Blake and Holden this week. I'm so excited! I get to see them today I think...maybe Wednesday. But good stuff, either way.
Eep I need to go to school. Blech. Oh well.
Peace.
Oh, to explain Barb and Phyllis. Barb is the woman who owns Solace, the silk store where I got my wedding dress. Phyllis is her good friend and assistant. They both set up tables at Massanutten for the wine tasting, so that's how I know them.
I wonder why it was called Sad Time in my dream if everyone was so excited about it? Maybe it's just sad that they'd get excited about watching a woman take a leak. Who knows?
So that was my crazy dream.
In real life news, the election is 15 days away. That is just a bit more than two weeks. Maybe this is where the anxiety of my dreams comes from. I can't wait - I really think Kerry will win - but Gore won in 2000, so I guess I have to hope for more than that. I am encouraged by the fact that all the Bush people I've argued with use the argument, "Kerry may be in the lead now, but Bush has something up his sleeve - he'll pull it out just in time and make a surge." Like they know. If that's their best reassurance, I feel good.
My parents have Blake and Holden this week. I'm so excited! I get to see them today I think...maybe Wednesday. But good stuff, either way.
Eep I need to go to school. Blech. Oh well.
Peace.