jianantonic: (Seahorse)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I'm back from St. Louis, working all week, and tired as fuck. I had a great time there, modest success (made the finals of two national events and won a side event), and got to hang out with my friend Trung. All that was awesome. The foot of snow that hit St. Louis on the day I was set to fly out? Less awesome. If you follow me on Facebook, you already know what a complete nightmare it was for me, but if not, here are the highlights:
bruised legs and strained neck muscle from trying to carry my two large suitcases + laptop to the train station -- roller bags don't roll in snow
9 hours in the STL airport with 6 rebookings for cxed flights
finally left on a USAir flight. Every time I fly USAir it's because of emergency circumstances. There are no other conditions by which I'd choose to board one of their planes.
sat next to a developmentally disabled adult who screamed for the entire three hour flight from PHX to PDX. No sleep for me.
luggage lost
pulled over on the way home, one block from my house (it's 30 minutes from the airport, and this is where I get busted)
home at 1:30am.

Pretty good day, huh? I mean, none of the stuff is all that awful, but string it all together and it's a pretty fantastic day.

I'm exhausted and really need to go to the grocery store, but I don't think I can make myself do that tonight. Also laundry. Probably not gonna happen. Bleh.

I did have a really good time, though. Just so fucking tired.

Date: 2013-03-27 07:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kixeldorado.livejournal.com
I am now pretty much also converted to your way of thinking on USAir. Sucks that now I have like 6000 miles with them though. Then again, it's not like those could actually get me upgrades or anything.

Date: 2013-03-27 07:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah...most airlines don't give you free flights or any sort of status recognition until you're up to 25,000. 6K is a nice chunk out of that, but really a drop in the bucket, and not worth putting in more just to get status with an airline that's already shitty. I flew their first class a few months ago and it was shittier service than I get in coach on most planes. So not worth it.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:31 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios