jianantonic: (Seahorse)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Two nights ago, Z and I sat outside with our neighbors, drinking and socializing. It was the first time he ever did that, and the first time I'd joined them in a while. We brought a bottle of cake vodka, and somehow it was empty within a couple of hours. We shared some of it, but apparently I was responsible for most of its disappearance. I enjoyed a few hours of being very happily drunk, but in the snap of a finger, it went from happy happy joy joy to omfg you are too old for this shit go lie down right now and think about what you've done! I wasn't blacked out or passed out, but I was no longer capable of uprightness.

After a few minutes of trying to gain some form of composure, I got Z to help me up the stairs and into bed. As he was tucking me in, he handed me my advanced kakuro puzzle book. I usually work on these before I fall asleep, but jtfc, a little ambitious for someone who needs to be carried up the stairs while slurring her speech and keeping her eyes closed because everything is spinning, no? I tossed the book aside and fell asleep relatively quickly around midnight.

At 3am, I woke up in the throes of a painful hangover. I thought this shit usually waited until morning like a decent kind of nuisance, but this one was all about efficiency. I never got sick; I was just in lots and lots of pain. I gave up on falling back asleep until it passed, so I took some painkillers and got back in bed with my laptop. My activity woke Z up, and he watched vugraph while I waited for the pain to subside enough to fall back asleep. It took a few hours, but I finally did get back to snoozing. Maybe around 6? Anyway I woke up again at 9, feeling totally fine and decently rested. I was then glad that the hangover had come and finished its business when it had. Z was already awake at that point, so I convinced him to go for a run with me before it got too hot. We did 3.7 miles from our house, through the park to the visitors' center and back. We didn't know the distance until we got home and mapped it, though. We were pretty proud of ourselves :)

From there we both got on about our days...it was a largely uneventful Sunday, though several times McKenzie complained in passing that he'd slept very poorly and was tired. He never blamed me, though duh, it was definitely because of me...I apologized and he brushed off my sorries, but I still felt guilty about it. Last night I made sure to get to bed at a reasonable hour, because he has to wake up early and drive to Seattle, and I wanted him to be well rested for that.

Karma can be kind of a biotch, though. At 4am, my bladder woke me up. Normally when this happens, it takes a little bit of Netflix to help me get back to sleep. Z hates that I leave the computer/TV shows on as I snooze because it keeps him up. I decided to try to get back to sleep without it this morning so as not to disturb his slumber. But then he started snoring. He's been sawing logs like a fucking lumberjacking world champion for nearly an hour now. It makes me wonder -- how has snoring not been evolutionarily snuffed out? I mean, I love my husband and still want to be married to him, and will work around this issue (though it is admittedly easier for me since we spend so few nights actually together), but back when humans were just developing and didn't have mushy feelings, wouldn't the partner of a snorer just be like FUCK THIS and move on? I know it's not necessarily a genetic thing, but still. Nature has ways of eliminating things that get in the way of our basic needs, right?

All this is to say that my husband's snoring is keeping me up in this 4am (now almost 5) hour, but I know I deserve it because I was a drunken fool yesterday. Complaining definitely helps, though.

Full disclosure: I definitely snore, too. 

Date: 2014-08-18 02:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] waitingonsunday.livejournal.com
I had a similar drunken night a few weekends ago. I went to my boss's wife's birthday party and did a bunch of shots and was all, yeah! Party! Woooooh! This is so much fun! and the next thing I know, I'm throwing up near my mailbox before being helped inside by my boyfriend and passing out cold. I suspect I'm too old for this shit, too. And I shouldn't have been drunkenly trying to eat cornbread.

My dude snores and I used to try to just put up with it, bury my head under a pillow, etc, because he won't wake up when you're intentionally shaking him to wake him up. His weak spot seems to be when you ~accidentally~ jostle him, so I ~accidentally~ do it a lot now when he snores, because eventually, he'll get annoyed enough to roll off his back. You're a patient, patient person, putting up with snoring. It drives me nuts.

Date: 2014-08-18 02:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah, two factors make it much easier for me to deal with: 1 -- we only share a bed at most 50% of the time, but really probably much less than that and 2 -- There are only three days in a typical week when I have to be up at a particular early hour, so most of the time I can just sleep in if I get shitty sleep at night.

We try to work it so that I fall asleep first most nights -- that way I'm deep into whatever before he starts with the snoring, and he can also shut off my computer once I'm contentedly out. It's win-win, except that now that I'm taking my D and not tired all the time, I tend to stay up much later...

Date: 2014-08-19 11:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pinkhorizons.livejournal.com
Lol, yes! I had that experience this past year too... it ended with me puking in the street and going home to pass out at 10pm. Apparently I'm too old for this shit ;)

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 12:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios