(no subject)
Jan. 26th, 2016 05:16 pmLast night, I hosted trivia downtown at a gay bar (it was awesome and I loved it!), and was walking back to my car with Toby afterward, at about 9pm. A guy walking by himself who may have been homeless or just scruffy addressed us with a "how ya doin', man?" So I guess he was really just addressing Toby. We both kind of nodded politely but kept walking. The dude was offended, and offered the following:
"I don't want your girl, bro. If I wanted her, I'd snatch her!"
Um, WHAT?!
I replied to that "I would beat you senseless if you tried," with a laugh, and we proceeded to my car and drove off.
At the time, I was just kind of amused by the interaction, and I wasn't serious about the violence because that's not my style but seriously did that dude just say he could have me if he wanted me?! No. That is NOT cool. The more I thought about it, the more angry I got. (It's also kind of like the opposite of getting hit on, isn't it? "I don't want you but I'd have you if I did...") I never felt unsafe, but maybe I should have. The dude was smaller than me and I think probably underestimated how much of a badass I am, so I don't think he could've really hurt me unless he'd had a weapon or something, but I'm also fast and loud and it was downtown...not deserted or anything. But I keep replaying the situation and I'm just icked out. There are so many reasons that is so not okay, and I'm kind of glad I responded the way I did at the time -- I hope that helped clue the guy into how fucking wrong he was. I doubt it, but I hope it was just a case of him being drunk and stupid and not like some habitual creeper?
Anyway this whole thing has been eating at me and I just wanted to write it down. One more anecdote for why feminism is necessary, etc.
no subject
Date: 2016-01-27 01:29 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2016-01-27 02:44 am (UTC)I once had a guy do the crotch thing ( grabbed his crotch in front of me) and I told him if he had crabs, they have remedies for that at the local drugstore.