jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Okay, one paper is out of the way. It was decidedly terrible. I'm going to get a B, because it will still be better than most of the rest of the class' essays, but no way do I deserve an A. That one took me two hours. I cited five sources, used only two quotes (rah...that's a good thing...it means I'm getting better at analyzing), and wrote six pages. For two hours, that's not too shabby. I have four hours before I have to go to work. I am going to allow myself the possibility not to finish by 3, because the agreement was Tuesday, not a particular time on Tuesday...but I want to be done by then because then I'll be DONE. The only problem is I don't have any real primary sources. I wasn't able to spend (read: did not make time) any time in the library and I don't have time to do it now, so my sources will include the two primary sources I used in my presentation and the rest will be internet sources. Steve really likes the internet and doesn't mind if all your sources are of the e-variety, but as a sophisticated scholar, I still feel kind of weird about it. I just hope I can find some primary sources on there. I hate using secondary texts! Yay for being a history major. I so wish that I could just write it like I was answering a test question - no citations, no sources, just my own thoughts and insight. I'm better at that.

The Abshire exam was much harder than I expected, but I was able to find two questions (he gives us about eleventy jillion to choose from and we have to answer two) that I was confident in. I wussed out and answered the question about relics, which was my presentation topic, and also answered the question, "When did the Reformation end? Give a specific date and cite your reasoning." I went all abstract and said it's still not over and it will go on forever. I wrote a really good essay but I used more common knowledge than stuff from the reading and class, so I hope Abshire can still see the academic value of it. I made it all the way through that class, getting A's all the while, without buying or reading a single damn one of the textbooks. Saved myself $200, I did. It's not a good habit, mind you, and I'm hardly proud...just saying:)

I should get back to writing but I'm not quite ready yet. I'm afraid that if I let myself do something else, though, I'll completely blow it off and I can't do that, either. Dammit. This sucks. But it won't suck for too much longer and then I'll be DONE. Done done done done DONE! Done DONE! Ok.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:44 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios