jianantonic: (MegCow)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Just a quickie before I go to work today, then more later. Girlyman last night was the best concert I've seen yet! We got there really early and ran into Don Semmens outside. He's such a nice dude, he let us in so we could grab the best seats and so we could hear sound check. They hadn't started sound check yet, so when we got there we had some time to chat with the band. They congratulated me on finishing school and the like, and we told them how much we've missed them for the last five months! They are super cool people, I just love them to pieces. Nate was wearing a shirt that said "I fake my orgasms" and Doris was wearing one that had a picture of a small mammal on it that said "Beaver Power." :) Nate jokingly offered me a job as a roadie when I helped with sound check. I'm going to hold him to that when they are too big to play the Gravity Lounge and actually need roadies. I'm *so* there.

The show was fantastic, too. The opener didn't suck my will to live. Her music was cute but lyrics were kind of...inexperienced? She's new on the scene I guess, but if she keeps developing her talent, she'll be really good. And then, GIRLYMAN! I have the setlist in the car and I will post a complete review later today to [livejournal.com profile] girlyfans, but the only songs they didn't play that I know are "I know where you are," "David," and "My Sweet Lord." They did all the usual covers as well as a lot of their new stuff. I heard a couple of songs for the first time. It was fun. We chatted briefly after the show. Genevieve, their manager, gave me a big hug and we talked about how the first time they played the Gravity Lounge, there were like ten people there (we were two of them!) and now the place is so crowded you can't move, which is awesome. It was also awesome that they remembered us from their very first show. I'm not obsessive like some people get, but I do not doubt that I am their biggest fan. I just want to be friends with them, too, so I'm trying to avoid the whole screaming and crying when I see them bit. But some people do that, which is also cool:)

Jer drove home as I slept in the car. It hasn't snowed yet since Thursday. I'm waiting. Brent said something along the lines of 8-10 inches....

Anyhow, time for work.
Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:48 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios