jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
It looks nice out today, but appearances can be deceiving, so I'm preparing to be wrong. When I get off work at 3pm today, I will have amassed 50.5 hours of work this week. Hello, OT! :) I'm kinda bummed because Christine switched with Darren today, so he'll be there all morning with me. I like Darren, but he sniffles. And by sniffles, I mean he has more phlegm in him than any of the rest of us put together, and he snorts it constantly throughout the day, making me want to run to the bathroom to throw up. So hopefully I'll get my place on the switchboard and stay there all day.

Chris said something yesterday that annoyed the shit out of me, and since I'm not confrontational, I'm just going to address it here. We were talking about how stupid it was for Shayla to get engaged. She did, by the way. So now instead of hearing "my boyfriend" all day, it's "my ring...." Anyway Chris just goes, "It's stupid to get married so young!" Ahem. Chris, I was married young. I don't think I was stupid. I expected him to just say something like, "Oh, sorry," or "Yeah but it's different for you because you actually have a house together and are college graduates." But he just said, "No, you were stupid. You go through so many changes when you're 24 or 25, it's stupid to try and settle down before then." Ok. First of all, Chris is 22 and working at the front desk of Massanutten, as he has been for two years now, with no college graduation in sight, even though he's been attending a two year college for four years. So all these big changes that he anticipates at 24 or 25 are likely things I've already been through, to a degree. Age doesn't determine your life changes, your maturity does, and you can control your own personality swings to a degree. But not having ever been one to exercise control, Chris doesn't know this. Furthermore, don't the biggest changes of your life happen when you have kids and retire? What, am I supposed to wait until after those things to decide to settle down with someone? Um...I was lucky enough to find someone that I know I want to be with no matter what. If I grow a second head, I want Jeremy to be there for me. If I have cancer, I want Jeremy to be there for me. I don't want to divorce him just because things change! They're supposed to change! I can take comfort in the fact that I know I'm right about this. (I do still think some people are too young to know, but that has much more to do with maturity than the number of years they've been alive.)

Holy shit it's time for me to go to work. I didn't mean to go on so long...peace.

Date: 2005-03-06 01:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Patrick and I were talking about this the other day--there is a HUGE difference between the changes that take place between HS and college, say, and the changes that take place between college and the Real World, or even the changes that take place between Real World Phase 1 and Real World Phase 2. Having a baby is easily a larger change than graduation from high school, but fewer people break up because of it (I hope). The difference is in the maturity of the people involved.

Date: 2005-03-07 06:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
I hate, hate, hate this debate. People who feel that way are usually 30-ish and are only saying something because they themselves went through something bad around age 20-25. It doesn't mean that is how life will work out for everyone. In this case the guy was the same age - no idea where his attitude comes from.

I'm sorry he was so insensitive and basically ignorant about your situation, and that he said something about it. I guess at least he said it to your face? Even so... annoying.

"If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all."

Date: 2005-03-07 06:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Thanks. I'm not hurt by what he said - him saying I'm stupid doesn't mean I am, and him being so ignorant means I don't have to give a shit about what he thinks. More than anything else I was just pissed off and didn't want to cause discomfort at work by saying what I wanted to.

Date: 2005-03-07 06:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
I avoid this kind of confrontation as well. Sometimes it's better to keep your mouth shut I guess.

Just wanted to let you know I've been there and heard this too. It's always from strangers who do not know me and my husband - interesting that none of our real friends or family think we married "too young," isn't it? :)

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 01:19 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios