jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Today will be a good day. It's nice out, I'm going for a walk with Gina in 45 minutes, I'm going to the lost and found sale at work, then to NOVA with Emily V. Or at least I'm meeting her there. And I had a long talk with Jer this morning on the phone. I miss him, but I'm doing better than I thought I would. The sleeping alone thing isn't so bad. The worst is the two seconds between when I turn off my lights and duck under the covers. Yes, I'm afraid of the dark. I know it's irrational and silly, but I still can't help it. So sue me.

Alright, one thing is bothering me that's kinda getting in the way of this great-day-to-be. After repeated requests NOT to use my account, someone(s) continues to violate my wishes. Two days ago, I wrote myself a reminder note about lunch with Ray and left it on my keyboard where I knew I'd see it and remember. It's a good thing I did remember, because someone used my computer and tossed the reminder note behind the keyboard and under a bunch of other shit. My list of phone numbers of potential employers keeps getting moved, too. Now granted, it's not being hidden, but it's kind of an important list and I'd just rather NO ONE TOUCH IT. I also had a really successful online arcade game going (I know, this is dorky, but three days in the making nonetheless). Someone just fucking closed the window. Three days I'd been working up that score. I know it doesn't count for anything but still...my computer AUTOMATICALLY goes to the startup screen every time the screen saver comes off, and you have a choice of chosing "Meg," "Jeremy," or "Guest." WHY ARE YOU PEOPLE USING MINE?! ARE YOU MEG?! NO!!! USE THE FUCKING GUEST ACCOUNT. JESUS. So I even made a nice little screen saver that says it really bugs me when people who aren't me use my account, so PLEASE DON'T. Fucking XP doesn't have a way to password protect screen savers or I'd just do that and no one could use my computer, which is honestly what I'd prefer. My away messages keep getting changed, or I get signed off entirely. Then who knows what messages I'm missing? It's so fucking annoying. It's like, I let you use this computer, with internet service that you don't pay for, and I even create guest accounts especially for you, and you still don't fucking respect my space and property. So I'm leaving a nice little note on my computer asking that you, whoever, anybody, please do not touch the computer while I'm gone. I'll cool off, figure out a way to at least password protect MY account, and then maybe people can start using it again - IF they can learn to not move my things around on MY desk.

When I woke up this morning, my away message was "I am away from my computer." I AM NOT THAT BORING! I always leave something that at least I find interesting. The least you could do is scroll down among my many zillions of saved away messages and PICK ONE if you're going to violate all my other wishes before that. Seriously, how does this happen? Even if I don't have an away message up, it is no one's responsibility to change that. I'd rather just go idle than have a lame away message. I know, picky, picky. But, GRR. I'm only this testy about it because I've only been asking for MONTHS that this shit stop. So, this shit is going to stop. Of course, there's no way to keep people from using my computer while I'm gone - damn the really hard to password protect XP crappola - but I'm hoping that between this rant, the screen saver, and the note I'm leaving taped to the screen, someone will get a clue and understand how truly pissed off I am that this little shit keeps happening when it's SO EASY to just not move my shit, not change my settings, and LOG ON AS A GUEST, because you are, a fucking GUEST. Not the fucking king of the computer. It is a privelege that you are a guest, and it's a privelege you wouldn't even HAVE anymore if I could only figure out how to password protect this stupid thing. So show some respect or I'm likely to throw the damn thing out the window, and then we'd really be in a pickle.

Sorry, I didn't mean for this to turn into such a rant. I really am excited about the weekend. It's almost time to meet Gina, so I'm going to go get some shoes on and get ready for the day.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:24 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios