jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Yesterday had its ups and downs, but it was mostly really good. When we woke up, we had plenty of time to hang around the house before Jer had to go to work, so we got the trash out in time for the garbage man for the first time in about 4 weeks. Then Elizabeth woke up and the three of us sat around chatting in the living room while I finished up a bracelet on the bead loom. At 10:30, Jer and I left to take him to work. First he dropped his car off at the shop and then jumped in mine for the ride to work. I'd pretty much planned out my day, that I was going to drop him off, do some window shopping in the mall, eat lunch at RT, then go to the SPCA until he needed to be picked up. Well, I did some more-than-just-window shopping at the mall, and when I got back to RT, Jer says he didn't have to work after all so we were going to spend the day together. Yay:)

We went to CiCi's for lunch, had a blast there, and then decided we'd catch a matinee. Hitchhiker's Guide was the original plan, but when we got there, I saw that Sin City was still showing and remembered Emily recommending it to me, so we went to that one. Emily - was that recommendation some sort of sick joke?! Thirty minutes in, we got up and left. I'd never seen previews for it, and neither had Jer, so we were going off pure recommendation. We had no idea it would be so violent. The first thirty minutes were nothing but pure violence and gratuitous nudity. It was sick. I was sick. So after shaking in the car for a while, we drove off to the SPCA. I needed to pet some kittens to calm me down from that one. Jer is going to the theater today to see if he can sweet talk some free tickets for a different movie, since that one was so awful. We'll see.

Anyway, Rockingham County has a brand new SPCA building. It looks nice, but I hate it. First off all, it's a freaking maze. Second of all, the cages are TINY. There are these huge dogs in 3x3 cages. It's so sad. Thirdly, they have a new policy that you have to fill out paperwork that promises you intend to adopt before they'll let you take an animal out of its cage and play with it. The whole time we were there, we saw about 50 dogs and only one volunteer walking them. And when I say walking, I mean, putting them on a leash and getting them outside for about three seconds before coming back in and swapping for another dog. It was horrible. No, I'm not going to adopt a dog, but I am willing to take them for walks like they deserve. And on every dog cage, there were warnings like "this dog is easily excitable" or "this dog tends to jump and nip." Well of course they do! They spend their whole day trapped in a jail cell not getting any exercise! I mean, Jesus, aren't you people supposed to know about animals? Jer and I both left after about an hour, very pissed off. Who do you write about that? Local representatives? I guess I'll look into it.

Jer finally spoke to Bill Frazier (aquatics director at the nut) about a waterpark job yesterday. He'd interviewed forever and a day ago and finally spoke to him again. It was a good talk. Bill said the ear tube thing (Jer has to have his tubes removed and then can't be in the water for 8 months) won't be a problem. It sounds like he wants to hire him to be a lifeguard instructor and manager. Sounds good, huh? I'm excited about that. Probably more than Jer is.

When he called to check on his car, they said it wasn't done because they don't have everything they need for it. That's kind of shitty because we'd called a week ago when it failed inspection and told them exactly what it needed and gave him a week to get it before we brought the thing in. Jackass. But it's okay because it's nice out and I'm walking to work, so Jer can just keep my car for a bit.

The best part of the day was when Jer took me to the Craft House on Neff Avenue. I never knew that store existed, but holy shit is it awesome! It has all the art supplies you could ever think you'd need. Forget going to Charlottesville for Studio Babboo...this was everything I needed. I spent a cool $80 there, and Jer spent another $20. It's my new favorite thing in Harrisonburg.

We finally got home around 7, and I realized that my legs were killing me. It had been quite a day. I sat and did more crafts. I finished my first bead loom bracelet, and then I made my first pair of earrings. I started another loom, but I can't find my needle, so I had to put that on hold for now. That pretty much sums up the day. On a scale of 1-10, I give it an 8. Today I'll be lucky to muster a 5. Jer's already at work and by the time he gets home, I'll be at work. And the fact that I have to go to work at all is a major buzzkill.

Oh well. I'll try to think back to my happiness of yesterday. :)

Peace.

lots of random

Date: 2005-05-10 08:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Honey. I told you it had gratuitous violence.

Or at least I've said that to everyone else I've talked to about it...it's possible I talked to you so early that it didn't register with me that I should emphasize that point.



The thing to remember about Sin City is, it's a comic book. Or at least based on one. Having it in black-and-white helped a lot with the surreality/unreality of it all.

Jer is going to the theater today to see if he can sweet talk some free tickets for a different movie, since that one was so awful.
http://www.wearerobots.com Listen to the "GeekBot" one. I promise it's not gratuitously violent, and it will make you laugh.


I'm sorry you disliked it so much...I should have made its content clearer when I recommended it. It was just that for me, the violence was so obviously fake that it didn't bother me. I don't know.

I'm especially sorry you missed Hitchiker's for it. :-( That is sad.



On another note, I'm not sure if there's anyone you can write, about the SPCA. They're probably understaffed as it is...and I'm sure none of them are happy about the dogs not being able to exercise like dogs need to do, but what can you do? Writing politicians and junk is always a good thing to do, regardless. ...Actually, I missed the "you can't play with the dogs unless you promise to adopt them" part the first time around. Fuckers. That definitely needs to be fixed. Those poor dogs...

Re: lots of random

Date: 2005-05-10 08:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah, the SPCA thing is sucky. It was never a policy before that you couldn't walk the dogs. All you had to do was sign a waiver that you won't sue anyone if they bite you. AND previously, if you wanted to volunteer, all you had to do was come in and say, "Hey, I have a few hours. Need some help?" and they'd let you walk dogs and shit. Now you have to take 20 hours of classes before they let you volunteer. I understand there are legal issues and shit, but seriously, I don't want to give any shots or anything, I just want to walk some dogs.

Re: lots of random

Date: 2005-05-10 08:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Aha!

http://www.livejournal.com/users/flamingophoenix/88355.html

"But beware the cartoonish violence." Not a strong enough warning, then?

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios