jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I am angry with my mother. Very angry. Extraordinarily angry. Why? Well, last week she said that I could take her car to Falcon Ridge if I cleaned mine out and swapped with her for a week. It's not like it's a big deal. My insurance covers me on other cars and her insurance covers other drivers in her car. Plus I learned how to drive on a Town Car, and we're only driving it up, parking for a week, and driving back. And today, she calls and says she's changed her mind and I can't have it. She had already prepared a long list of options which I'd already explored and rejected prior to asking her for her car.
I can't rent a car because it's too expensive.
I can't get a trailer because I don't have a hitch on my car and that would also be expensive to rent.
I can't get a cargo thing for the top of my car because I don't have a rack and it would ALSO be expensive to rent.
None of my friends drive large cars because my friends are all environmentally conscious, and drive itty bitty cars like mine.
It's possible someone from work would be willing to arrange a trade, but it's unlikely they're insured for alternative drivers and they also ALL smoke. Yucky.
The only other viable option is to borrow a car from my in-laws, but I KNOW they're not insured for other people driving their cars and probably won't be keen on it. Also, their cars are not huge like my mom's, and they are older and the mileage is shitty. So, I'm going to cry.
There's a chance that I could convince my mom in the next 47 days...but...ugh, she already agreed to it and then went back on it. And I am ready to kick her in the shins.

But it wasn't a complete waste of a day. I did swim this evening - 600m, 500m of which were the required breast stroke and front crawl combination. I finished the first 500m in under 15, but I had done my 100m of backstroke before I did my final 100m of breast stroke. By next week I hope to be able to go a little bit faster, with fewer and shorter breaks in between laps. I bought goggles today to help keep my eyes from catching on pool water-induced fire. I'll test them tomorrow.

If you have an SUV, minivan, or very large car, or know someone who does, would you be willing to let someone with a perfect driving record (me) borrow it for five days? I'll even give you my grand am in return. It's a 2004...

Sigh.

Peace.

Date: 2005-06-04 07:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
That's too bad. :-( Last I heard, your mom hadn't officially agreed to lend her car--she was still thinking about it--so this isn't as much of a jarring blow to me as it could be, I guess.

How many people are driving up in your car? Is there a possibility of splitting into two? Less fun, I know, and worse for the environment, but if you can't fit everything in one car...The only three I know of are you and me and Jeremy. I can fit everything I need (minus water and the tent and other communal things) into one duffel bag or backpack. Also, if I'm the only backseat passenger, I'm more than willing to share my space with seventy billion bags. :-)

It'll all work out fine. :-) lurve!

p.s. My car got 35 mpg on the trip to the beach! I'm so proud of it!

Date: 2005-06-06 08:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
I have a tiny car too, so I feel you.

What happens if she doesn't lend it to you? Still possible to go?

Date: 2005-06-06 10:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
We'll still go, it will just be a royal pain in the ass. We'd have to take two cars:(

Date: 2005-06-06 11:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
Ugh, that's a lot more in gas $ :/ I'm sorry! I hope she changes her mind!

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:24 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios