Thoughts on Stained Glass, etc.
Jun. 5th, 2005 09:59 pmTalking with Darlene at work this morning, I was describing the stained glass at the UCC church. She said, "I really think that beautiful stained glass makes a sanctuary holy."
Now, I understand that she most likely doesn't think that's the only thing that makes a church sanctuary holy, but it ignited a nasty reaction inside me. I didn't say much to her, but made a mental note to revisit the conversation in my LJ tonight.
I like stained glass. I think it's beautiful art. I think it really makes a church look nice. But is that the point? When Darlene said what she said, I was thinking to myself, "how holy?" For instance, which is more Christian: serving others or having fancy art in your sactuary? I know I'll probably never live up to my own ideals of Christian behavior, but, when has a church (or an individual) fulfilled enough of its Christian duties (maybe duties is the wrong word?) that the next thing on the list of Christian things to do is to put expensive, elaborate windows in a church? Not that I'm in favor of religious riots but I really side with Karlstadt here (look up iconoclasym, ~1528CE). Art honoring the Christian Way is great, but it should not be worshipped. Art as a worship aide is the grey area. Do I think hymns are bad? Eh. Not really, BUT, I do think it's important that people know the meaning of the hymn instead of just memorizing the words. Basically, I think if you're going to do the church thing (and I feel like a lot of religious growth would be better nurtured elsewhere), it is important that you know why you're there. People shouldn't go to church to sing hymns or recite prayers (this is why I despise liturgy). They should be inspired on their own, without having to follow a program to know when to pray, sing, or partake in a sacrament (communion, baptism, etc...), and when it's no longer Sunday, they should be just as Christian as they were in church.
To go off on another tangent, this is why I'm not going to get baptized, even though I want to be a member of the Church of the Brethren. I think too much focus is put on ceremony and not enough on what that ceremony is supposed to represent. Personally, I think God would rather tend to war and destruction than bother over how long or deeply your head or body is submerged during baptism, or the specific translation of the Bible read in a service. I mean, really. Omnipresence, schmomnipresence. If God cares about that shit, I don't want to go to that heaven. It wouldn't be heaven! And you all saw my rant on Christmas presents and Easter eggs...you can look in my archives if you missed it (sometime around/before Christmas 2004). I know this attitude is going to be a point of dispute when I have children. My parents will understand that we are not baptizing them as infants, but when I tell my family not to give my children Christmas presents (I would rather do just because presents than because-it's-that-time-of-year-so-I-have-to presents) - that will be a problem. They won't understand. Oh well.
That's all, for now. Please comment if you have an opinion.
Peace.
Now, I understand that she most likely doesn't think that's the only thing that makes a church sanctuary holy, but it ignited a nasty reaction inside me. I didn't say much to her, but made a mental note to revisit the conversation in my LJ tonight.
I like stained glass. I think it's beautiful art. I think it really makes a church look nice. But is that the point? When Darlene said what she said, I was thinking to myself, "how holy?" For instance, which is more Christian: serving others or having fancy art in your sactuary? I know I'll probably never live up to my own ideals of Christian behavior, but, when has a church (or an individual) fulfilled enough of its Christian duties (maybe duties is the wrong word?) that the next thing on the list of Christian things to do is to put expensive, elaborate windows in a church? Not that I'm in favor of religious riots but I really side with Karlstadt here (look up iconoclasym, ~1528CE). Art honoring the Christian Way is great, but it should not be worshipped. Art as a worship aide is the grey area. Do I think hymns are bad? Eh. Not really, BUT, I do think it's important that people know the meaning of the hymn instead of just memorizing the words. Basically, I think if you're going to do the church thing (and I feel like a lot of religious growth would be better nurtured elsewhere), it is important that you know why you're there. People shouldn't go to church to sing hymns or recite prayers (this is why I despise liturgy). They should be inspired on their own, without having to follow a program to know when to pray, sing, or partake in a sacrament (communion, baptism, etc...), and when it's no longer Sunday, they should be just as Christian as they were in church.
To go off on another tangent, this is why I'm not going to get baptized, even though I want to be a member of the Church of the Brethren. I think too much focus is put on ceremony and not enough on what that ceremony is supposed to represent. Personally, I think God would rather tend to war and destruction than bother over how long or deeply your head or body is submerged during baptism, or the specific translation of the Bible read in a service. I mean, really. Omnipresence, schmomnipresence. If God cares about that shit, I don't want to go to that heaven. It wouldn't be heaven! And you all saw my rant on Christmas presents and Easter eggs...you can look in my archives if you missed it (sometime around/before Christmas 2004). I know this attitude is going to be a point of dispute when I have children. My parents will understand that we are not baptizing them as infants, but when I tell my family not to give my children Christmas presents (I would rather do just because presents than because-it's-that-time-of-year-so-I-have-to presents) - that will be a problem. They won't understand. Oh well.
That's all, for now. Please comment if you have an opinion.
Peace.
no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 05:26 am (UTC)I could go on for days too. I'm new to all this Christian stuff and I go to one of THE most conservative churches around here as far as the Brethren doctrine goes. There is so much I don't understand and am trying to learn...
We just recently started going to Sunday School and I enjoy it immensely. Mainly because I have this preconception that most people that go there agree with 98% of everything that goes on and such.. when in fact, many of them question the same things I do. I'm rambling...
no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 08:09 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 08:19 am (UTC)a note on prayer coverings...
Date: 2005-06-07 04:45 am (UTC)Weird huh???
Now why the CoB and Mennonites think they do prayer coverings may be entirely different but our reasons for "choosing" to do something may be entirely different than we think...
There are probably other churches around that might be a better fit...unless you feel you are somehow helping some of the other members towards better spiritual health then it may be better for you to find a more spiritually healthy environment for yourself and your children...
Re: a note on prayer coverings...
Date: 2005-06-07 05:01 am (UTC)Speaking in tongues
Date: 2005-06-07 05:20 am (UTC)In Acts, where this miracle occurs, it is a miracle of hearing. All the people gathered together spoke their own different languages, and everyone heard in their own language. No one was speaking all hibbidy jibbazzy hag or anything. Everyone spoke just as they always would, and the miracle was that they understood each other, not that they were moved to speak in crazy noises that weren't understood.
When people go into fits and speak in tongues in their church, maybe it is because they truly believe and are moved by their own misinterpretation of this passage, but I see it as them being big fat phony fakers, trying to convince the world that they're so holy because they can scream incomprehensibly in a church.
Re: Speaking in tongues
Date: 2005-06-07 05:23 am (UTC)Re: Speaking in tongues
Date: 2005-06-07 05:32 am (UTC)Re: Speaking in tongues
Date: 2005-06-08 05:53 pm (UTC)There's a Pentecostal church in the industrial park where my doctor's office used to be. At least, I think that's the denom. They're having a revival soon (unless it's already happened.)
no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 08:50 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 12:21 pm (UTC)That said, I think that the soaring ceilings and beautiful stained glass of cathedrals are good, because art in any form is to be praised. Beauty is certainly not the only thing that should be valued, but it is nice when it occurs. I'm having trouble forming these thoughts in my head, so I'll stop now.
Yay! I can derail this into a tangent!
Date: 2005-06-06 01:49 pm (UTC)Yet another tangent
Date: 2005-06-06 01:53 pm (UTC)Re: Yet another tangent
Date: 2005-06-06 01:59 pm (UTC)Re: Yet another tangent
Date: 2005-06-08 05:53 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-06-07 04:42 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 12:39 pm (UTC)(Haha, no bitterness here, eh?)
If my kids want to go to a religious service, I will drive them to it; if they want to do rituals at home, I will help them. I will not, however, take them to something they don't want to go to or allow them to be forced into doing something just because "it's what is done." Besides, getting my child baptized would be somewhat hypocritical, as I don't intend to "raise my children Catholic." I definitely want them to know about their heritage, and stuff...but I don't want them to be forced into doing anything they don't want to do. As I was. And I have to be very careful about the environmental pressure--my parents told me it was okay with them if I didn't get confirmed (although their statement had the implication of "you can just get confirmed senior year instead"). The reason I went through with the ceremony is because I knew it would kill my grandmother (quite possibly literally--she's kind of old and crazy) if I didn't. Ugh. Bad situation all around. BUT, it is done. And I have learned a lot from the whole thing.
Sorry for the long angsty comment. ;-)
no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 01:46 pm (UTC)I chose to leave, of course. I even told the youth minister that I didn't believe in God (at that time I didn't) and she encouraged me to get confirmed anyway. What, do they have quotas?
Anyway. I know what you mean.
no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 01:52 pm (UTC)Well, I plan on raising my kids as good little Quaker kids, and I'll use the same zeal my parents did to make me a mainline evangelical, only I won't push it after they reach age 12, then it's up to them. But for the first 12 years they need a solid education to equip them to explore their faith.
no subject
Date: 2005-06-06 01:46 pm (UTC)That's why I'm a Quaker.