Nov. 17th, 2003

jianantonic: (Default)
I have to qualify something.
Yes, I am going to buy a house.
I am absolutely *sick* of people saying "must be nice to have that kind of money..."
For those who think that my parents are funding my future:
I have paid my own way through college - on scholarships and money that I saved up myself.
Yes, I have a lot of money...kind of. My parents were smart and saved for me since before I was even conceived. My grandmother died and left me a bit. But that's not the money I'm using to fund myself today. It's away for the future and I won't touch it until much later in life.
I got my first paying jobs when I was 8. I began caddying at the fee of $120/tournament, I walked dogs, watered plants, fed fish, and I babysat for $2/hour. Until I was 16, I never spent money on anything, except a brief bath and body works kick in 7th grade. I gave almost all of my earnings to my dad to put into my savings account. For eight years, I earned about $150/month and invested it all. When I turned 16, I got my first *real* job and worked almost full time ever since. Over the past twelve years, I've managed to save for myself a sum of about $30,000. I drive a clunker, I never use my AC, and I pick up pennies on the street. I've earned my life. I'm using my own savings as a downpayment and taking out a loan to pay for the rest of the house. To those of you that didn't start working at age 8, it may be a while before you have the kind of money I do, but don't look at me like I never worked for anything. That's right. I've worked hard all my life, have money, and I'm a Democrat. It makes sense to me...
Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:32 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios