Aug. 27th, 2004

jianantonic: (Default)
After talking to a lot of people about it, I've decided I'm definitely quitting my job. I mean, I don't ENTIRELY want to, but I know the part of me that will miss it will be overwhelmed by the part of me that will be relieved to be gone. I'm going to stick around through my wedding, because Janet's daughter is IN my wedding and I don't want there to be any weirdness around that matter. But basically everyone I've talked to - even my parents, who yell at me about money on a daily basis - says I need to quit. So even though I love what I do, I'm going to leave it behind for a bit. And Adam had a VERY good point. He reminded me that everything I've ever done has been something I've gotten very passionate about, and whatever next thing comes along will probably make me feel the same way, so I shouldn't be afraid to leave this job behind. Jeremy has promised to be the breadwinner for the next six months at least, so I can focus on finishing school and getting in shape, and worry less about problems at work and how much weight I've gained since high school. He is a good husband.

I'm very excited about Wolf Trap. EFO is releasing a preview EP for their CD-to-be-released-October 19th, available only at this show. It also has a non album song on it, which I'm really hoping is Cowboy because I can't BELIEVE that didn't make it onto the album! I'm going to take a wild guess and say the other two songs are "This is Me" and either "Baltimore," or "Independence, Indiana." Just a guess, though.

Anyhow I have to go pry my cats off the kitchen counter now...so I'm off.

Peace.
jianantonic: (Default)
I didn't realize I had never clarified what happened between the last two entries. Allow me to do that now.
Tuesday night I was all strung out because I hate confrontation, and even more than that I hate knowing that I'm going to have a confrontation but not having a clue why. So Wednesday morning I was up by about 5am, and absolutely miserable. I went in early to talk with Colleen, and here's why she was mad:
On Saturday, a customer had come in to pick up a special order that was due, but no one could find it. Her bag was still in the order box, meaning the part hadn't come in yet, and there were no order forms in the back with that part on it. The logical assumption: someone forgot to order it. So I ordered it overnight and told her it would be ready the first part of the next week. Monday, I come into work and Janet starts interrogating me. "Why did you order this overnight? We already had it."
Me: Where?
Janet: In Colleen's box.
(Colleen usually does all the order processing, but I am the only other person in the store trained to do that, and it used to be my job)
Me: Why would I have thought to look there? If Colleen's not here, I can enter the order. You should have given it to me because this is your customer and you should've known it needed to be done before Colleen would make it in to enter that.
Janet: Well you should have called me when you couldn't find it!
Me: WHY?! All logic told me it hadn't been ordered! It wasn't written on the order forms in the back, and it wasn't in her job bag - I had every reason to assume it wasn't here.
Janet: But it WAS here.
Me: Then you should have asked me to enter it when it came instead of putting it in Colleen's box when you knew she wouldn't be here. I'm trained to enter that for a reason. Colleen isn't here 100% of the time and in this case it needed to be done immediately. If you take the time to take it out of the box and check it in, you should have someone enter it.
End of conversation. Janet did not mention it again to me.
On Wednesday, when I go into work, Colleen says she is mad because Janet told her I said "If Colleen can't do her DAMN JOB, then I should do it!" !!!!!!
So I told Colleen what I really said, and she said she believed me, but I know she doesn't because Janet and her go to church together and love each other dearly. But here's my thing. IF Janet thought I was out of line, why didn't she say something to ME? I was there the rest of the day on Monday, and she is the manager, so that should be her line of action. Secondly, WHY THE FUCK did she feel the need to share what I said (no matter HOW I said it) with Colleen? And WHY did she let Colleen get so upset that she was crying? Janet KNOWS what I said was not an attack on Colleen. It was me reminding her that I can be of service in this kind of situation. Yes, I was short with Janet, but that's because she was being a total bitch to me. So, basically, JANET SUCKS, and I'm furious with her. I have every intention of sharing this with Randy, but again, not until after my wedding, because of the weirdness factor...and also I don't want to field questions about unemployment at the wedding. All these people will be there, so no discussing me and quitting!

Also, the past two days, I PERSONALLY have done $15,000 in sales. I don't make commission but still that is WAY better than I've ever done in that amount of time. What happens as we're leaving the store yesterday? "Great job, Janet," from the owners. Fuck 'em.
jianantonic: (Default)
I'm back here again. I'm on a big journal kick all of a sudden. Tonight I had a great talk with Adam. He's one of the very few people that I've remained close with from day one...meaning that since we've become friends, we've never lost touch. He has more wedding jitters than I do. It's cute. :)

Tomorrow is Wolf Trap. RAH! I also, for some bizarre reason, agreed to meet Janet at Mr. J's for breakfast tomorrow morning. What was I thinking??? Seriously, folks, pray for me. Sigh. Well I was gonna eat there anyway. I can talk to her about the concert I'm going to and how excited I am and keep the conversation away from the store, I hope. It only takes about 10 minutes to eat a bagel from there...

I talked to Shelly more tonight. I'm glad I worked my way into the Edhead circle of friends. After last year's FRFF, I didn't talk to anyone again until this year's. And they're all such awesome people! And I will see them all (many of them, anyhoo) again next week;) Hey that reminds me - Shelly - did you know I am the webmistress on the LJ Girlyman community called Girlyfans? Join it!

So I don't know if I mentioned this earlier, but I've lost 10 pounds this week. That's great, I suppose, but it's frustrating a little because I don't *feel* smaller. I still have curves I don't want and hunger I can't resist. Actually that's not entirely true. I've done really well on the hunger thing. AND I've been eating fruits and veggies - a new thing for me.

I need to go back to being a full on hippie and not shaving. I still avoid razors as much as possible, but I shaved last week for whatever reason, and now I have an ingrown hair on my knee that is sucking my will to live. Not really, I guess, but at least my will to maintain smooth legs. Jeremy's hairy, I should be allowed to be hairy, too. By the way - when I mention shaving, I'm strictly talking about my LEGS. I re-read this paragraph and thought of some other ways that could go.

I'm getting married next week. That's so cool:)

I wish I had more to say because I'm bored enough as it is and it would at least be something to do, but I'm fresh out of words.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios