jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Yesterday started out great, but ended up being the worst night of my life. I'm not being a drama queen about this, it's true. Right around 7pm, I started noticing just how many bug bites I'd gotten at FRFF. It was strange, because I hadn't even noticed any until then - a day and a half after we left. I scratched and scratched and didn't think much of it until midnightish when Jer asked to look at them. Not bites - hives. All over my fucking body. We showered and went to sleep after rubbing witch hazel all over. I slept for about three hours, woke up scratching, and couldn't stand it anymore. I went into helpless whimper mode until Jeremy woke up. He went upstairs to research treatments, as he saw they were much, much worse. I was basically so covered in them that my whole body looked like one big red swolen lump. He pumped me full of vitamin C and decided I needed to take antihistamines, but we couldn't find any, so we went to the nearest 24 hour store. He wouldn't let me stay at home because he was worried my throat would swell up. I stayed in the car and he was out in a hurry. I had taken Dayquil at home and he gave me another very strong pill - I can only take 10mg of it every 24 hours, some spray and some cream. I used the whole tube of cream trying to cover every itchy bump. Thankfully, this did offer some relief. I was able to go back to sleep with Jeremy reading Harry Potter 1 out loud to me (he wanted to read HP6 but I wouldn't let him since he hasn't read the others) and just woke up a few minutes ago. I'm still itchy, but I won't dare scratch, and most of the bumps have gone away. Jer called into work for me - I feel terrible about missing while I'm still training, but FUCK this is miserable. The bumps are mostly gone so I'm hoping that I did enough to cure it, but my whole body is still swolen. I've had pain and heartache that I wished would kill me, but I swear there is no worse feeling than itching all over your body and not being able to do a damn thing about it.

So that's that. I have the day off work, though I don't want it, but there's nothing I can do about it. I emailed EFO last night about merching their next two VA gigs. I also sent my well wishes for Eddie and his family and a little personal note to each of the members telling them how much I enjoyed Falcon Ridge. Mike wrote back almost immediately and was like, "Should we know you?" and thanked me for the words and said nothing of merch. I wrote back and told him "Julie would know me as the girl with the broken foot, Robbie would know me as the girl who talked to him about the Nationals, Eddie always remembers me, and you would have no reason to remember me because we haven't ever really talked. But from now on you can remember me as the girl who emailed you, because I am the only one, right?" I also reminded him that I'd asked about merch in the first place. He wrote back again and said, "Meg, you must remember that I am the band's ass, and not fit to make such important decisions. A more qualified musician will respond in due time. Meanwhile, please note that I have filed you under 'cool.'" And he signed it "Ass." So that brightened my eve, just before the hives kicked in.

And here's the thing about the hives. I'm not really sure what caused them. They're an allergic reaction to either something I contacted or ate. The only things I did yesterday were things I do EVERY day - so now I'm afraid to go about my normal business for fear of a huge breakout of little welts of misery. I'm having orange tang (our only source of vitamin C in the house) for breakfast, and I'll wait until Jeremy's home from training at the front desk (did I ever mention that he'll be working there now?) before I make any decisions beyond tang for lunch. Okay, well, actually, we're pretty sure we know the culprit of the hives. They were worst on my legs, where my capris were touching me. I wore those capris to and from the pool, and even though my whole body was itchy, the part covered by my swimsuit while at the pool never really broke out as much. I didn't shower like I usually do when I get home from the pool, so we're thinking it was the pool water and wearing the wet capris that did me in. But that makes me really nervous, too, because I swim every day and I don't want to stop! I guess I just have to be more careful about taking showers immediately afterwards and such. Cause, shit, this is miserable.

Peace.

Date: 2005-07-27 07:25 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Augh!

I know Patrick has sinus troubles from swimming in chlorine, but I don't know if that's an allergy, and I don't know if pools are something you can be allergic to, technically.

I really don't think it was the pool water alone, though. You might think about showering at the pool (wear your flip flops!!) and not wearing your wet bathing suit home. Bring along a fluffy bathrobe or something to wear instead. (Of course, I don't know the distance/time we're talking about here, either.) I do know that wet bathing suits can help yeast infections along as well.

Good call on the antihistamines.

I hope you feel better!! If you do feel your throat closing up, CALL 911. Even if you don't have health insurance yet.

Lurve!

Date: 2005-07-27 09:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
I have no problem going to the doctor feeling this miserable. The only reason I didn't is because there's not much more they can do for it. Discomfort without sickness really isn't a problem for them. But I will definitely go if my throat swells.

You can be allergic to chlorine, because it is a poison. Really you're not allergic to it as much as more vulnerable to the poison. Perhaps the chlorine levels were higher than usual, perhaps my sunburned legs made me more susceptible to skin irritation, perhaps it was just that I was lazy about changing pants after I got out of my swimsuit. Maybe it wasn't the pool at all, though I think it was. I will definitely be more wary in the coming days. Today, though, is dedicated to rest and concentration on anything other than my own body.

Date: 2005-07-28 05:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
Gosh Meg, I'm so sorry! How miserable it all sounds! :(

Definitely showering after swimming would be a good idea. Can you ask if there was anything that changed as far as the chemical additives in the pool?

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:04 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios