jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Work sucked today, but I got someone to come in at noon for me tomorrow so I can leave early and go to my great-granmother-in-law's 92nd birthday bash. Only 5 more days of work at the front desk until I'm free...free to work a different 40 hours:) Seriously, though, I wanted to open fire today. It's like somebody landed a huge dumptruck of idiocy in the lobby this morning and appointed me to get rid of it all. The very first thing that happened, before I was even on the clock, this guy approached me in the parking lot just as I'd stepped out of my car. He had a terrible stutter, was clearly missing a few links in the cranial region, and kept asking me about places to eat breakfast. Even after I'd answered his questions, he'd just repeat them. Finally I was like, "Okay, been nice chatting, but I have to go to work...." But when I tried to walk away, he asked, "Are you married?" Rather than field the question, I ignored it, but the dude was persistent. He ran up to me and shouted in my face, "Hey! Are you married?" I told him yes, ducked inside, and called security. Apparently he'd been "hitting on" a lot of the girls I work with, so security tried to explain to him for the umpteenth time that his behavior was inappropriate. He wasn't malicious...just a little scary, and clearly had no clue. It made me feel the way you might feel if you saw a car barrelling down the road toward you only to see that the driver is an 8-year-old with Downs Syndrome. Anyway this guy hung around all day and made us all very edgy. On top of that, it just sucked going back to a job where my #1 responsibility is getting yelled at, whereas in my new job that pays me more, I actually like everything I do. This transition cannot happen fast enough. Also, I had to pee every three minutes but we were slammed and they wouldn't let me take bathroom breaks.

We also passed around a get well card for the supervisor who broke her shoulder (and has been away from work for over a month now). This is the same person who gave me crap about working at the switchboard all the time because with my broken foot, I couldn't stand out front. I wanted to write something snarky on the card like "Now you know how I felt, except you aren't even at work at all..." but of course I wrote "Get well soon!" because I could never say the things that I want to. The saddest thing is, she'll probably even never make the connection between her shoulder and my foot, because mine MUST not have been as bad as hers, since I actually worked through it...she probably won't ever be sorry for treating me the way she did. Oh well, a broken shoulder on her end of the deal should be enough to console me. I feel terrible about saying that but dammit, she was a bitch about my foot, and I never complained at work even though every moment I was there was another moment I wished I could sit in Hell for 40 hours a week instead.

So, I'm in a snarky mood, which reminds me of Shelly, which makes me sad, because I miss her, and all the Falcon Ridge people. Am I ready to go back? No...because I need my A/C for a few more weeks before I start really missing it...but I know I will start longing for it soon. I think Jeremy saw Olivia and Janice today, but as I haven't talked to him yet, I can't be sure. Olivia had a choir camp in Harrisonburg and Jer was going to see their final performance...but who knows.

This begs the question - what does one do at choir camp? Can it be like basketball camp where you do basketball drills and play basketball games all day? It can't be - they'd all lose their voices. Seriously...wouldn't choir camp be boring? I love to sing, but shit. What do they do? It was a week-long overnight camp!

Anyway, that's enough for tonight. Peace. Namaste.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:04 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios