jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
It's the first of the month. No one wants to pay bills on the first of the month. Therefore, I'm not busy today. Funny, as soon as I typed that, the phone rang. But anyway...we're slow. The day in inching by. I've spent entirely too much time on ebay (though I am getting really great deals AND I'm exercising a surprising amount of restraint - I won four auctions so far, but my grand total is still under $10). That little side note was in case my husband sees this before I explain to him that I'm not really spending all our money;)

I had a really nasty lady on the phone earlier today. She yelled at me for turning her over to collections and ruining her credit. She kept saying she was going to call the attorney general on us for ruining her credit. I said, "Ma'am, I'm sorry about your situation, but the fact is, we're just trying to get the money you've owed us for the last two years. If you don't pay your bills, it will hurt your credit. Period." She screamed that she didn't need a goddamn lesson in credit, so I hung up on her, feeling quite pleased with myself. She called back and complained to the switchboard operators that I told her to fuck off. Riiiiiight. I may have *thought* something along those lines...heh.

Our company picnic is tonight, so I'm going to scamper off about 15 minutes early (cause I came in at 8) and change clothes before I go. I'm wearing this suit that my mom gave me, and while I like it a lot, I didn't realize it had shoulder pads, and I'll have to get those removed before I'm seen in public wearing this. I feel like an undersized QB.

I'm doing really well on hours this week. 29.75 going into today, another 9 today and at least 8 tomorrow...schwing! I figure, the money we were making before we both changed jobs was enough to pay the bills, but not enough to really do anything else significant (like pay extra on our mortgage, credit card balance, etc). Now that I've gotten both a raise and the green light for all the OT I want, I've decided to keep putting the paychecks in the same places - I mean, I'll still divide it proportionally, but I'll pay more on the mortgage and the credit cards and put a little in savings (though Jer's right - pay off high interest debt, THEN save). I'll use my OT pay for spending money, and anything I don't spend can go into the credit cards. I only have about $2500 in credit card debt, so it could be a lot worse. My student loans were only about $3000, too. Then there's our mortgage...heh...that'll take a bit longer to pay off...but it's ok. I'm just obsessed with money. I really should lighten up. I'm so much better off than most people my age. But...I want to be completely in the black, because that's the attitude I was raised with, and it's hard to accept that it's okay to have some debt. Sigh. It's okay to have a mortgage, it's okay to have a mortgage, you have a stock portfolio, a Roth IRA, and a retirement plan from work, you are in good shape...I have to keep telling myself...

Anyway...I've only got about an hour left here, then it's picnic time. I think I'll go find other ways to look busy...

Peace.

Date: 2005-09-01 06:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Yep, I agree that being in the black is the way to go--but having a mortgage is GOOD. It's good debt. Having a car payment is also good debt (as long as you don't overdo it). Credit card debt is not good debt, but that's because it's high-interest, which sucks ass. You sound like you've got it all under control. :-)

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:04 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios