More on gas...
Sep. 2nd, 2005 04:12 pmThis side of Rockingham County ran out of gas this afternoon. When we'd heard the first three stations had shut down, we all got in our cars and went to fill up at the Exxon at the bottom of the hill. That was an experience. I'm lucky that my tank is on the passenger side, because I didn't have to wait nearly as long as most people. I'd estimate that at 1:30 when I went down to fill up, there were about 50 cars waiting to pump. I waited a good half hour before I was able to fill up - $30 for 8 gallons. Now that I think more on it, I probably spazzed. I could've gone without filling up, because Jer has a full tank and I'm not really going anywhere this weekend. But I guess panic ruled the day. People down there at the station were being a bunch of ass hats, too. From what I've heard, that station has since run out of gas as well.
The things that worry me most about the price spike are the possibility of further drilling in our supposedly protected lands and the effect it will have on going out. I know I was going to see some folks this weekend, but now I'm nervous about leaving home. Do I really want to pay ten bucks just to go into town? Sheeit.
Anyway, here's hoping there's relief - for the environment, for the gulf, for our wallets...
Peace.
The things that worry me most about the price spike are the possibility of further drilling in our supposedly protected lands and the effect it will have on going out. I know I was going to see some folks this weekend, but now I'm nervous about leaving home. Do I really want to pay ten bucks just to go into town? Sheeit.
Anyway, here's hoping there's relief - for the environment, for the gulf, for our wallets...
Peace.
no subject
Date: 2005-09-02 05:44 pm (UTC)I do have sympathy for the large families who do need their minivans, though. And the folks who legitimately need their large vehicles (farmers, etc).
no subject
Date: 2005-09-03 09:39 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2005-09-03 01:01 pm (UTC)