jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
So, the business office ladies are hella cool. Did I just use that phrase? Interesting. Anyway they are. They're totally helpful, and they look so excited to serve us, even if we come to them with a totally lame problem. Props to the BC business office ladies!

Classes started yesterday. I've been to four of my six (two are one credit) classes so far. Here's what I have:

Tuesday/Thursday at 8am, HIST 380, 20th Century US Social History with Dr. Longenecker. I love Dr. L, but his classes tend to be intense. They're not hard, just a lot of work. The thing that sucks, though, is it's a seminar class but it's way overloaded. There are 30 people in my class. Get this, it's an upper-level history class for majors with tons of prerequisite courses, supposedly. Yet I am one of only two or three history majors in the class. Everyone else is a liberal studies (future teacher) major, none of whom have taken the prereqs. So, as hard as the class looks on paper, I think I have a significant advantage over, say, everyone.

On Tuesday at 11 I have guitar. I'm going to learn some Guthrie (Woody and Arlo) this semester, and also some Kennedys. Rah.

On Tuesday/Thursday at 12:30, I have HIST 310, 17th and 18th Century Europe with Dr. Fogarty, the new guy. He's really nice, and I look forward to class where the tests and papers are all worth 10% or so, but class participation is a fifth of my total grade. Can we spell "A?" :) Unfortunately, also a lot of non-majors in this class. History majors here are a bit elitist...it's not that the others aren't as smart as we are, it's just that we know way more about history in general, so we have better discussions, because all history is interlocked, really. It's like having a class on the Cold War without any background on Marxism. But I'll still get something out of the class so it's alright.

On MWF at 10, I have 19th Century Europe with Dr. Fogarty again. This class is much smaller than my others, so I think it will be my favorite.

At 12, I have weight training and conditioning. Hell yeah! Just me and the football team. Good times.

At 1, I have New Testament with Prof. Watson. It's my first actual class with him, although I've been working with him for three years now, and I think we're playing bridge tomorrow night. I imagine I'll be one of very few upperclassmen in this class, which is fine by me. The freshmen this year are really cool. I like them a lot so far.

So classes won't be so rough. 28 textbooks, though. Each of my history classes has six or more. That's crazy. But I've done it before.

Sad news now. Last night, one of the greatest professors, now a dean, Dr. Andersen, affectionately Dr. Bob, suffered a great loss. His wife unexpectedly died of cancer. When I got the email from President Stone, I started balling. Dr. Bob is sooooo nice. He deserves only the best of all things. He is younger than my parents. He has kids my age. I can't imagine how I would feel in his shoes, or in his daughter's shoes. I'm still trying to think of something nice I can do for him...I'll come up with something. If I prayed, he'd be in my prayers, but instead he's in my heart. I hope that's good for something.

Anyway, I've got to go. It's time to get some work done.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios