(no subject)
Oct. 18th, 2005 07:04 pmNormally at work, I set certain things aside to do during the slowest times so I don't have to spend a whole day trying to find ways to look busy. Today wasn't particularly slow, but I ripped through all my work like a sharp pair of scissors. I was going to try and quote that Cake song, but the lyric escapes me.
And we all know that I successfully got my hair appointment for tomorrow...pictures to follow, when I figure out how to do that...and find the camera...
So, the workday = a success.
Then I got home from work, and Jer was at work, so I was all, hmm, what to do? So I changed into my stretchy pants, loaded up my gym bag, and went to Woodstone for a workout. I went into the gym not really knowing what I wanted to do. Bike? No, those seats are the opposite of comfortable. Treadmill? No, ouchie foot. Elliptical? Probably not, but I'll give it a shot...so I hopped on, and it actually didn't bother my foot at all, so I punched in 15 minutes on the timer and started up. I got up to my target cardio workout heart rate pretty quickly, but wasn't gasping for air, so I kept pushing a little harder. Even without a CD player, the 15 minutes were up in no time, so I went another five minutes for an even 20. I dismounted feeling pretty groovy. I had planned to swim, but there were a bunch of old people in the pool and I wasn't interested in trying to maneuver around them, so I gave the weights a look. I did all the upper body machines, 3 sets of 10 on each. It's kind of depressing how much less weight I can handle these days. I was down to 15 pounds on one of the machines I used to do 60 on in college. But I can get there again.
Then for dinner, I was on my own without Jer home, so I had a soy dog, a jonagold apple, and a granola bar. Oh, and I finished my eighth serving of water just before dinner. That's three straight days I've had the eight servings or better. Most days I get enough water, but when I'm not at work, I tend to drink less, so I'm not always consistent. Three days in a row is good.
And now I'm making CDs. Well, actually, I'm ripping CDs to my computer library so that I can make CDs from a full selection. I have plans to make at least a few CDs for some of you, because I'm an evangelist of folk (which is different and, imho, better than the other kind of evangelist), and I want to do it. I'm also making mixes for work and working out. At about three minutes per CD, it should take me 3 minutes x 200 CDs to burn everything I want to start with. It may be a while before the actual CDs are made, but I'm getting started, anyway.
And just in case people don't read entries that are behind cuts, I have a favor to ask. I want to put a poll in one of the communities I moderate, but as I am not a paid member, I do not have that option. Could someone please post this poll in
How did you become a fan of Girlyman?
A friend recommended them/gave me a CD as a gift
I saw them at a festival
I saw them at my local concert venue
I saw them open for the Indigo Girls
I saw them open for Dar Williams
I saw them open for someone else (text box for who)
Other (text box)
And another question:
Have you ever seen them live?
Yes, many times.
Yes, once or twice.
Yes, but they were the opening act.
No.
That'd be great. When I started the community in 2003, there were 6 or 7 members for a long time. Then the community started growing a lot after they started touring with the Indigo Girls. Now we're over 110 members and I'm just curious where they all came from. Also it's cool to make the answers available to all. Thanks to whoever takes on that task.
Peace.