(no subject)
Oct. 20th, 2005 04:53 pmI've only got five minutes left at work. I actually called in sick today, then changed my mind and came in at 8:45. Go figure. I mean, I didn't change my mind about being sick, I just felt guilty about taking the day off and decided to tough it out. And it's not that I'm truly sick so much as that I'm exhausted. Getting my hair done took over seven hours. It was 12:30am when I got out of the chair. The girl doing it was really nice, but I hated being there. The regulars that were hanging out in the salon the whole time were depressing - a sixteen year old girl talking about getting drunk and high and having sex with lots of people, a mother with a little boy who was encouraging him to hit kids that piss him off at school, a drug dealer who came in and tried to sell us weed in the middle of my hairdo, and the hair dresser's friend who kept talking about how she was going to use men to buy her things she needs - like perfume, boots, and a TV. Sigh. So, I really like my hair, and I'm glad I got it done, but it was the worst possible way I could've spent those seven hours. No food, no drink, no peeing, no standing up to stretch...for seven and a half hours. I just kept repeating to myself what my grandmother used to always say: one must bear pain to be beautiful. The funny thing is, this isn't even about being beautiful. I can tell from people's reactions (while no one has said they don't like it) that most people think I look stupid. But I like it, and Jer likes it, and it's very me, so I feel good about it anyway.
Okay, time to go home.
Peace.
Okay, time to go home.
Peace.
no subject
Date: 2005-10-21 08:02 am (UTC)Those regulars do sound reall scary. :/