jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I just got back from seeing Pride and Prejudice. We went to a 6:50 showing. It's a two hour film. It's 11pm now. Yep. Jer's car wouldn't start after the film, so we daudled for a while trying to decide what to do, and when we started to jump it, the engine started smoking, which we figured wasn't good, so we gave up, left it at the theater, and got a ride home from Meredith. It's frustrating, but it could've been worse. I'm home. We don't need the car in the immediate future. We're okay.

So, the movie. I loved it! I thought it was as true to the book as you can expect a two hour version of a 300 page (very small print) book to be. There were some liberties taken that I didn't like, but none that ruined the film for me even in the least. I am as in love with Darcy as ever. It must be a sad thing that I want nothing more than a love affair with a fictional character. But the heart wants what the heart wants. However, the brain realizes that this is an unrealistic hope, so I think the next best thing will be to buy another Jane Austen novel and jump right back into her world. So I've decided to forego a trip to Charlottesville this weekend in favor of a trip to the Green Valley Book Fair and Dayton Farmer's Market on Saturday. It'd be nice to spend some time on the downtown mall, but since Helen will be in town soon, I figure I can do that with her.


As many of my recently-graduated friends have thrown themselves into the "real world" this year, I find myself examining my own life with respect to their musings on life after college, the job search, angst, etc. There are a few ways to look at my life:
I graduated college early, with honors, I have a house, I have a career, I have a stock portfolio, I am stable; I am successful.
Or there's the flip side, which is I bought a house before I settled in a career, and then had to settle with my house, I married young and tied myself down in a lot of ways, I don't make much money, I'm not doing a job that means anything; I am not living up to my potential.
Honestly, I think the truth is somewhere in the middle, closer to "successful," but I know most will choose an extreme and label me. I can tell people are concerned about my potential when they ask questions like, "So, what are you doing now?" "Have you decided what you want to do?" "When do you think you want to go to graduate school?" or, heaven forbid, "When are you and Jeremy going to start your family?" More on that later.
I'm an accountant, which is a perfectly respectable career, but most who know me know it's not really "me." I like it, sure, but I probably would be a more appropriate version of myself if I were working toward my PhD in some humanities field at a school in New England and my husband were in Seminary, like he once said he would be. But the truth is, as well as I know I could do in such an endeavor, I've learned something about myself that shocks even me. Academic achievement won't make me happy. It would legitimize me, sure, but just because I'm not working on a degree does not mean I'm not pursuing higher education. For the first time in my life, I read for pleasure. I have time to earn my living, go to the gym, AND enjoy my life. That was never true for me in school, and it was always a choice between money, grades, and health. In school, health was my last priority, and I know if I were to reenter school, my health would once again fall victim to an overstuffed schedule. As much as I value academic achievement, right now it's the last thing I need to pursue - officially, anyhow. I like having time to read and learn about things that I want. If I want to learn about the current event du jour, I don't have to commit to a whole semester of it. I like that. The liberal arts experience equipped me with the skills to further my own education, and I fully intend to do so for the rest of my life.
My loyal readers will know that I've taken some major steps toward bettering my health - yoga, nutrition, regular exercise - and I've done well at keeping with my goals. Never mind the tub of popcorn I ate tonight at the theater. I've lost 23 pounds since Sept 13. I'm more flexible, more energetic, and more comfortable in my own skin. I'm proud of myself.
So where am I professionally? I know full well that I will not be satisfied in the long run working for Massanutten, even if I were to rise all the way to the top. I like my job, and it's perfectly suitable for me in the here and now. I love living on a resort, I love all the perks, and I love my schedule, sort of. Schedule is what gives me the most angst these days. For a work schedule, I couldn't really be better off. I get eight paid holidays a year, plus paid vacation, paid sick leave, personal days, and OT pay. And I'm allowed to take time off even if I don't have vacation time saved up, because my boss is cool. Another perk - cool boss. But I've recently come to the realization that I'll never be happy with any work schedule, because no matter what job I work, my time will have requirements and I won't have complete control over my daily life. I'm okay with that for now - most people have to live by some constraints - but I'm lucky/spoiled/smart/arrogant enough to know that I don't have to. I have friends far and wide, places to see, concerts to attend, trails to hike, history to experience - and only small bits of these ambitions can be realized on the weekends between Friday and Monday and the workload ahead. I won't be happy until I'm living a life of retirement, and I'll be damned if I'm sixty years old before I get to start living. So my five year plan is to pay off all debt and find a way to make my money work for me. No get-rich-quick schemes, but legitimate, time-tested methods of earning residual income.
Jer and I have learned in the past few years how to live off very little. Our combined household income is well below the national average - probably even below the poverty line, if you're only figuring in cash income. But we live very well, and without amassing large debt. At least one of us is a good money manager. ;) Right now, we are living only off our own income. But we have assets that I've purposely ignored for my whole life, and I'm ready to stop ignoring them and start making them work for the life I want. Gradually. I'm not going to quit my job and cash in my stocks. I want to start by buying a rental property. A townhouse or apartment at first. Leave it to a property management company, pay them their commission and cash my checks. Then buy another one...then build a house on the farm (or move into the one my parents may build). Get some animals. Learn to raise the animals. Hire a farm hand. Sell wool, milk, whatever, as long as the methods are environmentally friendly. Kick back on the land I love. Travel and leave it in the hands of someone I trust. Enjoy life. Stop stressing about money. Of course the details need to be examined, but this is all a very real and achievable goal for me. I'm proud of myself for not immediately falling back upon my inheritances (my brothers did and the money is long gone for both of them, wasted in their teens on foolish purchases). I bought my house with money that I saved from walking dogs starting in first grade, working bridge tournaments since I was 8, and working full time since I was 16. I've done this much on my own, and I could surely continue to support this lifestyle with the job I'm in, but I don't need to, and I could be happier if I tapped the resources at my disposal. There's nothing shameful in using the money I earned only in that a wealthy late relative loved me. Someone wanted me to have that wealth, and there's no reason I should wait until my old age to use it - as long as I use it wisely and don't use it up. And for what I want to do with it, I would hardly make a dent in what's been left to me. So I've decided I'm going to expedite my retirement.
Oh, and we're not having kids. The reasons are plentiful and I've already written enough tonight. But there's the answer to "What is Meg doing with her life?" For now, I'm scraping by on my own means, but I look forward to the day when I don't have to say "I can't, I have to work." Because I don't have to.

Peace.

Date: 2005-12-08 09:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Wow. That sounds...frighteningly together. (I'm tempted to say "hoopy frood" from Hitchiker's Guide, but I'm not sure I've got the words right.)

And don't let people bug you about not having kids. My aunt and uncle (Cathy and Tom) never did, and it was definitely the right decision for them. (In my oh so humble opinion. Man, am I ever full of "humble" opinions.)

'Expedite' is a great word.

Date: 2005-12-09 05:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
"Expedite" is a great word. I think I use it too much. I loved what I read once in Carolyn Hax - when someone was tormented by older folks about when she would have kids, she replied, "Well, you're old, when are you going to die?" I doubt I'd ever say that to anyone, really, but I'm not at a point yet where the badgering has overwhelmed me. It's really not so bad - but I'm only 22.

Date: 2005-12-09 08:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
My other favorite (although it doesn't quite apply to your situation) is "Well, we are having as much sex as we can." That'll shut them up.

Date: 2005-12-09 01:38 pm (UTC)

Date: 2005-12-09 06:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
I'm sorry about the car! Maybe just a dead battery? I just had to replace mine last week.

I'm looking forward to renting that movie with my mother at some point. I can just tell it's one of those films we'll love watching together.

Your future plans sound wonderful. I can't imagine a life more fulfilling than one in which you're living off of your land. Wow. :)

Date: 2005-12-09 02:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] archwindchaser.livejournal.com
looks like it may just be the battery...
the tow truck guy was able to start the car (I was already at home though and the car was in hburg...) he still took it to the auto shop for me...if I am dumb then it smoked cause I hooked up the cables backwards when I tried to jump it...another possibility is that the clamps were contacting the boddy as well cause it was hard to get the particular cables to clamp firmly on the battery posts because they would not spread wide enough to clamp on the set without touching the car body.... who knows...

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:24 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios