jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I woke up this morning feeling kind of blah, another day, so what...but then I decided that I didn't want to feel that way all day, so I got proactive about having a good time. I reminded myself that today is our office holiday party - during work hours, so I get paid to sit around and schmooze with the big bosses at a fancy dinner. The best part is that I don't have to work during that time. I really don't care so much about the luncheon. But I hear there are door prizes. Could be cool...

I also decided I was up early enough to make myself look fabulous, so I put on my blue velvet thrift store dress with sparkly tights and boots. I did my hair all cutesy and I must say, I do look pretty fantastic:) Already, the day is looking way up:)

Tomorrow we do our gift exchange at work. I was really proud of the gifts I got for everyone - for once I feel like I got some gifts that people will actually enjoy - and I'm really looking forward to seeing what they picked out for me. We made wish lists, so if they all stuck to them, I can look forward to clothes patterns (Jer and I are both on a mission to learn to sew), fun yarn (I am also going to step up my knitting and crocheting this year), beads, and a yoga DVD. I'm really looking forward to this. I do have one mini-rant, though. You can see from the items I listed that I am pretty easy to please. None of these things should be more than a few dollars. However, my coworkers all put down things that are $20 and more. They listed movies, CDs, clothes, jewelry...I mean, hello! You know how much (little) I make! Growl. There are seven of us doing this gift exchange - I was thinking I'd spend maybe $30 on the office people...well, I spent a bit more than that, but I think it worked out okay, and I'm pleased with my selections so I'm not going to bitch about it anymore. I just wanted to take a ride around the room on the high horse.

Okay, I do have one more rant. But this isn't a holier than thou thing. I got an email from amazon.com saying "Dec 19th is the last day to place orders for Christmas delivery with regular shipping!" That reminded me that I wanted to order something (for myself, not a gift) from there, so I did. I checked regular shipping and all that, and I got the confirmation this morning saying they were going to ship it out on Dec 27th and I'd get it by the 29th. Now, it's not a Christmas gift so I don't really care, but, seriously. How rude! Dirty effing liars. If they weren't so damn cheap I'd boycott. ;)

Time for work. Peace.

Date: 2005-12-20 07:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
I think that's my basic philosophy of life. Be happy, and things will go your way. Or at least you'll be more inclined to notice the good things that happen :)

My mother used to sew all her own clothes as a teenager. I wish I had those skills!

Date: 2005-12-20 07:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
My mother did, too. And my pal Helen is just an all star when it comes to making clothes. She doesn't even use patterns anymore, she's just so gifted. My mom is giving Jeremy a sewing machine for Christmas, hopefully with some lessons...we'll see:) I just think it would be so much fun to make all my own things. I could live on the farm, grow my own food, make my own clothes...hehe...is my head in the clouds or what?

Date: 2005-12-22 05:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] harri-cady.livejournal.com
Not at all. That sounds dreamy!

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:24 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios