(no subject)
Jan. 13th, 2006 10:21 pmNothing brings great book depression to a screeching halt like a terrible film adaptation. I hated the movie version of Memoirs of a Geisha. Not even ONE LITTLE DETAIL was the same as the book. Not one! Little things that didn't even make sense to change! Ridiculous. It was neat to see all the kimono and the shoes and the dancing, but I don't even feel like that was what the author was describing in the book, because nothing else was as the book described it. I can understand films taking liberties in some aspects, but the book is meant to be historical fiction, and the film just perverted that so horribly - it was awful. Don't go see it. If you're dying to see the kimono or the dancing, wait for the video release. The cinematographer didn't even focus on the most beautiful parts of the set/story. So I've gone from great book depression to horrible movie remorse. Thank heavens I have a concert tomorrow to perk me up!
I just hope it stops raining so I don't have to make the drive up to DC in the muck. :-/
Peace.
I just hope it stops raining so I don't have to make the drive up to DC in the muck. :-/
Peace.
*man*
Date: 2006-01-15 10:23 pm (UTC)