jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I had a great workout today. All I'd planned to do was go for a walk with Jcow, but since it was rainy and he was sleepy, I decided I'd wait until he was awake (6pm) and go to the gym for a regular workout. I still wasn't sure how hard I was going to push myself, but when I got there, I was feeling pretty good (I felt positively shittastic when I woke up this morning), so I decided to do all the regular stuff.

I started as usual on the elliptical. I did 20 minutes at the "fat burn" setting. I still don't know why it wouldn't burn fat if you were on the cardio setting...if anyone has any insight into this matter, please advise. Anyway I ran at an average pace and felt pretty good when I got off. I moved to the treadmill, where I fully intended just to walk. I was a little winded from the elliptical and wasn't sure how well my shoes would do, being still quite new. After 11 minutes of walking on an incline, some folks came in to use the pool - the gym has a big window that looks right into the pool, on the same level, and the treadmills are right at the window. This middle-aged dude was kind of staring at me from the pool. I won't flatter myself - it's just that I was the only thing moving in his line of sight. But, since he was staring, I didn't want to look like the loser who comes to the gym only to walk on the treadmill. After all, he hadn't seen me running on the elliptical...so I upped the pace and started running. I ran at a good pace for almost seven minutes, which I think is pretty good for having already spent as much time working out as I had that afternoon. I then slowed back down to a walk and finished out a 25 minute stretch on the treadmill. I skipped yoga stretches because Jer was with me and anxious to leave, so the last thing I did was just a few sets of arm stuff with the free weights. Overall, I'd say the intensity of this workout was very good, and I was pleased with the performance of my new shoes, and my feet in them. :)

Now Jer and I are going to watch March of the Penguins. I've been wanting to see it ever since [livejournal.com profile] artsygeek recommended it to me last summer. Finally....

Peace.

Date: 2006-01-22 07:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] medusa-stare.livejournal.com
At higher heart rates, you burn calories from glucose rather than fat. At slightly lower, but still elevated heart rates, you burn straight fat. The fat burn setting is probably designed to keep your heart rate a little lower, so you don't start burning glucose instead (although glucose turns into fat if you don't burn it, so that's still helpful).

I have absolutely no idea why I know that.

Date: 2006-01-23 05:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Hmm...well, thanks for sharing. So...for weight loss purposes, working out at a lower heart rate would actually be more helpful? Hmm.

Date: 2006-01-22 08:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
it's not so much that you don't burn fat in the cardio setting, it's more that going a little faster works your heart harder.

i wouldnt go by the arbitrary settings on the exercise equiptment...they really don't tell you anything about yourself. just go at a comfortable speet that you can keep up and do it regularly.

Date: 2006-01-23 05:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah, I don't put much faith in anything but the timers on those things. Though it seems to be an industry standard that "easier" levels are for "fat burn" while harder ones are for "cardio." So I figured there must be some science to it.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:20 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios