jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I think I figured out what's going on with my "poison ivy," but I'm not sure and I know very little about science so maybe someone else can weigh in and tell me I'm stupid. It looks like poison ivy, itches like poison ivy, and I was in the woods on Tuesday - but - it's on my triceps, which were covered by a long-sleeved shirt all day Tuesday, it's in identical places on each arm, and it hasn't spread at all. So that's probably not poison ivy. But when you work out, your muscles tear a little and then there's lactic acid that repairs them but makes them sore, right? Well, I'm lactose intollerant (doesn't stop me most times, I love milk, and I don't mind the flatulence, so it's all good) and I worked my triceps super hard on Monday night - they're the sorest part of me - so could it be an allergic reaction to my body's own lactic acid? It's okay if you tell me that's the stupidest thing you've ever heard - but does anyone else have any ideas? I'm still sore, and still itchy, but less so in both categories.

I went to the gym again last night, despite the soreness, because I refuse to take a day off this month. I did not do any upper body resistance training, though, because that would've been just ricockulous (thanks, [livejournal.com profile] oobermeister, for the new word), but I did do legs and cardio. The problem with the elliptical machine, though, was that my chest was really sore still from the upper body workout, so running kinda hurt a lot. But I did it anyway, because I'm determined. I feel so good today (despite the sore and itchy arms), and I'm wearing pants that I'd only ever shoehorned myself into before, which I didn't have to do today:) We'll see if they still fit after lunch;)

Adam hooked me up with access to MLB.TV, so I was able to watch the Diamondbacks beat up on Greg Maddux. It was lovely. Big THANK YOU ADAM for that. Now I can watch them all season:-D

So watching baseball was good, but then I had the most awful dream I've had in a very long time. A friend of mine was over at my house (my parents' house) and we were home alone. It was late evening, and we decided to build a fire on the basketball court in my back yard. For whatever reason, he wants to use a gun to start the fire. I'm not even sure how it happened, but he ended up shooting himself. I tried calling 911, but kept getting the wrong number - like I'd get restaurants and shit. Then my parents got home and started trying to help me. We were pretty sure my friend was dead at this point, but we still couldn't get anyone on the phone. So I called my friend's mother and told her what happened, and she rushed over with her boyfriend. We passed a lot of time crying and moaning about what had happened, and still no emergency workers. Eventually, a mortician comes, but all he does is move the body. We ask if there's any hope, and he says no, but there would've been if an EMT had shown up earlier. I screamed that I'd tried to reach someone, and he's like, "Everyone knows the Rescue Squad is only open 9-5. You should've called someone else." And then my family and my friend's family start yelling at me for fucking up, and then these two lawyers knock on the door. At first I'm relieved to see them because I think they can probably do something or get in touch with someone who can do something, but it turns out they're just scam artists and assholes. Then I woke up, super relieved that it was all just a dream, but still very shaken. Most of the characters in the dream were made up, and no way would the friend I dreamed about carry a gun, but still. I hate dreams like that. ((shudder))

Then this morning, I did a bonehead thing. It wouldn't be so bonehead if it were the first time I'd done it, but it wasn't - I thought I was getting OJ out of the fridge, but instead I got pineapple orange. Pineapple tastes okay to me, but the juice is just a bit much. Of course I didn't realize my error until the juice was in my mouth, so I finished off the bottle like a trooper. I really should be more careful with that.

There, I hope I didn't fuck up any of my very simple coding.

Peace.

Date: 2006-05-04 10:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
don't forget 'ridongculous'

'lactic acid' should not be confused with 'lactose'. lactic acid is a byproduct of anaerobic resperation and lactose is a sugar from milk. if you are lactose intolerant, you would lack lactase, which would only work in your digestive tract. was your shirt rubbing up against you? that's the only thing i can think of.

Date: 2006-05-04 10:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Aha. See, I thought I was being stupid. I asked a guy at work and he said it's probably heat rash or an allergic reaction to someone else's body funk left behind on one of the machines I used. I'll have to do more careful wipedowns from now on.

Date: 2006-05-04 03:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] robinhoodvandal.livejournal.com
just about all contact dermatitis looks like poisen ivy, so really it could be anything. Also poisen ivy doesn't spread once the oil from the plant is gone. It's a common myth, but the rash itself is not contageous, even when it is weeping.
If it is really bothering you, go to the doctor. They can prescribe lovely steroid cream that clears it right up... whatever it is.

Date: 2006-05-04 03:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] robinhoodvandal.livejournal.com
wow. I dreamed that I cut bangs, and somehow my grandmother was being unladed from a 18 wheeler in my back yard, but yours totally wins.

Date: 2006-05-04 08:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Hmm, I think lactose intolerance is when you can't digest it. I don't think it's an allergy.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:36 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios