jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic

Well, I had a combination of really fantastic, awesome times, and really shitty, terrible, miserable times this weekend. In all, I'm glad I went, but I am a little worse for wear.

I left work at 2:30 on Friday for the drive down. I was nervous the whole way that I'd get lost or miss an exit since I wasn't following the directions exactly, but 288 was well marked and the drive went well for the most part. I did get stuck in traffic for about 30 minutes at one point, but considering it was a holiday weekend, I'll take it. I made it to Raleigh around 6:30 and caught up with some directors right off the bat. Marie gave me an update on Donna, my director friend who was in a terrible car accident last month. She said her injuries were no longer life-threatening, and she will be back to work in a few months, which is shitty, but much better than we were expecting after the initial report. It took me a while to find the other caddies, because the hotel was a fucking maze, but Ahren came and got me and took me back to the room I'd be sharing with him, Dupey, and Kmart. I'm not the biggest Dupey and Kmart fan in the world, so I wasn't too pleased about that, but I rightly assumed they'd spend most of their time out of the room getting drunk and high with some of the younger bridge players, so I didn't have to deal with them too much.

I played on the first night with a nice older lady from Richmond. We placed first overall and she was very happy. She arranged to play with me again the next day (we got 4th then), and gave me her phone number and told me to call her about playing in the Richmond sectionals. She also said she'd come to Charlottesville if I'd play with her there. I said I would, and I'm looking forward to it. She was very nice. I took the afternoon session off on account of exhaustion, and then played in the evening with Ahren. He played like dookie, but I had fun anyway. It's always a good time to play with Ahren. He is a good player, really, but made some horrendous bids, which, if you really want to hear about, you can IM me, because only the two of you that are bridge players would get it. Some funny stories, though....

That night, Dupey and Kmart were in the room trying to hook up with some random high school chick all night, so Ahren and I hung around the hotel until the wee hours, waiting for them to settle down so we could sleep. I ended up catching a brief nap in the caddy room, but it wasn't very comfortable, and finally I was able to go back to bed. By Sunday, I'd been there two nights with very little sleep and very little to eat, and I was running on empty. I played in the open game with Ahren in the morning session because there was a half table. Despite the much tougher competition (we'd been in the Intermediate/Novice game before), we held our own with a 48% game. In bridge, a 60% game is almost always a first place finish, and anything over 50% is good. It's not really bad until you're under 40%. So we were pleased with the outcome there. That afternoon, I wanted the session off again to try to sleep again - the afternoon before, when I went back to the room to try to sleep, Dupey kicked me out because he wanted to poop all afternoon. (Remember my post about this a while back? Seriously, WTF?) So I was going to try to rest again, but just before the session starts, Ahren said he needed me to play as a fill in in the I/N game. Fine, I agreed. BIG mistake.

The woman I got paired up with was both the WORST BRIDGE PLAYER EVER (and I've known thousands of bad ones, and I am most definitely NOT exaggerating) and also the rudest woman I have ever met. To be fair, she was not rude to me, directly. She just humiliated me by being terribly rude to everyone else we played against. Ugh. I found Ahren midway through the match and told him I was going to get him for this. To cheer me up, he slipped me a note while I was playing the fourth round (of six for that session). It said "Ari - 4 Cin - 1 bot 8." Good news. It did cheer me up a bit. But this woman was still doing her best to make me miserable, and at the start of the sixth round, with about 25 minutes to go in the session, I was at my wit's end. Then Ahren slips me another note. "Ari - 4 Cin - 5 FIN. Sorry." That bastard. Talk about kicking me while I was down. I will never forgive him for that, and he knows it. He has not stopped hearing about what a jerk I think he is from that moment on. But in addition to being a Class A douchebag, he's like my favorite person in the whole world, so I'll get over it.

Jeremy, Quan, and Bob took me out to dinner with them on Sunday night. I felt bad because I really wanted to hang out and catch up with Jeremy like we'd planned, but I ended up talking to Bob the whole time about baseball and music, which are my two favorite things to talk about, but I wanted more facetime with Jeremy. Sigh. It was a good time, though.

That night, I did get the evening off, so like an idiot, I decided to work out and go swimming rather than rest. I lifted in the hotel gym, then ran on a treadmill for a while, and then went swimming after that. It was a great workout, but a stupid idea considering how little I'd slept or eaten all week. After that, all I wanted to do was crash early, but Kmart had other plans. Since I wasn't working, I went to bed before the sessions were over, but by the time I was starting to drift off, Kmart came back to the room and decided he wanted to turn on all the lights, the TV, smoke, and tell offensive jokes. I tried to ignore him by putting the blankets over my head (in a room that was already hot as hell b/c the AC was a piece of shit), but when I did that, he'd jump on my bed and hit me with pillows until I uncovered my face again, when he'd continue with his jokes. This lasted until 4am, when he finally got tired and fell asleep. Fucker. I worked half a day on Sunday, loaded up T's car, then my own, and skipped town at 2:30. After stopping for gas and a bite, I was on the road for real by 3, and home by 6:30. Traffic was incredible, in that there was none, and I had a great drive. I was buddied up with these three other cars the whole way, which always makes the drive easier, I think.

When I got back to town, Adam suggested dinner out, so we went to a new Chinese buffet. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good, either, and both of us woke up with terrible sore throats, so we probably won't go back there again. After dinner, we went out for drinks at Wild Wings, where the UVA baseball team just happened to be having a team dinner. Lucky me:) Adam introduced me to a bunch of players, including my favorite, Beau Seabury. After Beau left, Adam told me about Beau's fantasy baseball team and how he's blowing away the competition. Quote of the day: "Beau knows baseball." Call me simpleminded, but I can't stop laughing about that. If I have to spell it out for you, it won't be as funny, but remember the anti-drug commercials from the 80's with Bo Jackson? Bo Jackson played pro baseball and football and had a series of commercials that went "Bo knows baseball. Bo knows football. Bo don't know drugs." So when Adam said "Beau knows baseball," meaning his fantasy team was incredible, this came to mind and hilarity ensued. Anyway.

I woke up this morning feeling sick and exhausted, and I can't wait to go home and go to bed, early. But first I'm going to help my brother move into his (our?) new place this afternoon. Hopefully it's got room for me and Jeremy for the next few months, because Kevin just moved in at my folks' place and it is overcrowded. 7 people living there now. Soon to be 8, because Kevin's bringing a roommate. Uf.

Well, that should catch us up. Thanks for reading.

Peace.

Date: 2006-05-30 10:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Next time, get your own hotel room. Jesus. Those guys sound like complete and utter assholes.

Date: 2006-05-30 11:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah but this hotel room was free.

Date: 2006-05-30 11:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Oh, free. That's an order of magnitude better than 1/4 of a regular room's price.

But even so...yeeeeek.

Date: 2006-05-30 11:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah. The thing was, the guys didn't really bother me except for that last night when I was really trying to sleep. I'm used to not sleeping at bridge tournaments. It's just how we roll. But the last night is different, cause you've gotta drive a long haul the next day. But it was fine other than that, really.

Date: 2006-05-30 10:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Wait, Kevin who?

Date: 2006-05-30 11:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Kevin a GE co-op who lived her all last year.

Date: 2006-05-30 11:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
"Lived her? But he hardly knew her!"

:-D

Date: 2006-05-30 11:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
D'oh. One would hope he knew her after living her...

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:36 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios