jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Well, I got an A, but I have to say I've been prouder of my work before. I have to laugh at myself though. This was my first paper assignment for Dr. Longenecker - a 1000 word book review on Larson's Summer for the Gods, about the Scopes trial of 1925. Now, I've always struggled with book reviews. It's hard to tell what a professor wants in one of these. But this time I just followed an outline and wrote a decent paper. I always struggle with conclusions on these things. Conclusions annoy me in general because they seem so pretensious. You're just repeating what you said in your paper in one paragraph - now, if you can tell the point in one paragraph, why do you have the first four pages? It's like you're treating the reader like you assume they don't get it. So anyway I have trouble with conclusions. They don't come naturally to me like the body of the paper, so they don't sound like me at all. In this particular paper, I made a comment about how I thought the book was worthy of the classroom because it told the facts accurately. Dr. Longenecker's comment was, and this made me laugh, "It would be newsworthy if the book were not factual." Duh. Oh well, I still got an A, but I feel like the paper ends on this sour note of my prof making fun of me. That's okay, though, that's why he has a PhD and I don't. And it's difficult to get A's on Longenecker assignments, so I'll take it.

Baseball. Yes. Hooray. I'm glad but a little surprised at how the Red Sox spanked the Yankees in Game 1. And those Cubs. Shit. They had more home runs than the Marlins had hits. Well, that will screw you. I've decided to host some World Series parties, because whichever teams make it, it will be a fantastic series. By parties I don't mean parties in the same way that most college students would mean parties. I mean, I will invite some baseball fans over to my apartment and we will watch the games together and order a pizza. Yum.

Yesterday when I went to work, I found out that Randy was really pissed at me for giving away that stone the day before. But Mike said he wasn't and he was going to defend me. I think Randy will get over it, and I don't think he's pissed at me so much as he's pissed that the store lost a lot of money yesterday because a customer was upset with the length of time it was taking to make a design for her and she took her $5000 elsewhere. That sucks, but it's completely Randy's fault and he knows it. He's too fucking ADD to get anything done, and he doesn't really understand the meaning of customer service. Sigh. I like him, he's just a little confused.

Well it's time for breakfast now. Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios