jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I'm back from Alexandria now. Here's how it went:

Friday: get to train station, am told train is delayed an hour. Three hours later, get on train. Grr. Get to Manassas. I'm getting off at the next stop, allegedly 10 minutes away. As we leave, we're told we're on brand new track and have to go slow. How slow? <5mph! It took an hour to get to Alexandria from Manassas. I FINALLY got to the hotel just in time to enter the midnight knockout game with Ahren, Trevor, and Bob. These two bitches sit down at our table. Bitch #1 is just slow. Bitch #2 is slow and rude. It's the midnight session. It's called ZIP KO because it's supposed to be zippy! Whenever Bitch #2 was declarer, she took her sweet ass time, but whenever someone else stopped to think at all, she'd hurry us along and say "It's ZIP - Hurry up!" And I was sitting North (because I'm a control freak and wouldn't have it any other way), and Bitch #2 kept moving the boards (only North is supposed to touch them. Bridge is big on etiquette). On one hand, she moved the board before we scored it, and then was like, "Oh, was that vulnerable?" I snapped, "You'd know if you kept your hands off the boards like you're supposed to!" Take that. Then when Bitch #1 was declaring, she played from her hand and I corrected her to tell her she was on the board. She called for a card, and her partner said "you don't HAVE to play the same suit," and then she changed her call. Technically, this is WAY FUCKING AGAINST THE RULES, but I was tired and wasn't about to bring a director into the fray. I went about my bidness, beat them soundly despite their blatant cheating, and moved onto the next round. We played against this young couple (Lance and Audrey, for those of you who know them) who I've seen all over the place but have never talked to. For some reason I've always been very turned off by them both and haven't wanted to be friends. Probably because they smoke. I dunno. Anyway Ahren didn't play so well that time (it's always his fault, you know), and they thought they'd beaten us by a lot, but when we compared with our teammates, it came down to one trick. We did lose, but it was closer than it should've been. We got a quarter masterpoint for winning the first round, and that was the only bridge I played all week - they didn't have midnight games and Michael has a thing against caddies playing as fill-ins, so I didn't.

I learned a few new drinking games from the other caddies, got pleasantly blitzed at the end of each night, and had a really good time. Yesterday was Ahren's birthday, but we were both scheduled to work all day, so on Sunday when we both had the morning and afternoon off, I took him to a Nationals game for his birthday (observed). Zimm hit a HR in the first inning, and the Nats won 6-2 in blazing heat. I was wearing shorts and a tank top, and got seriously roasted, except my shins. Seriously. Both my legs were completely exposed to the sun, but only my kneecaps burned. My body is so weird! And now, three days later, you wouldn't even know I've ever been in the sun. WTF?

I got home in time to see just a little bit of Lucy before my brother had to take her home, but a little bit is better than nothing. Jer and I had bought her a really cute dress, which everyone loves, and the Robbie Schaefer CD, which was also a huge hit. My brother really loved it. I was pleased. Ahren and I stayed the night at my parents' and had breakfast with them before I had to come to work, which is where I am now. Mini shitstorm this morning, but everything is fine now. Nate called, freaking out, to make sure I was covering his duties adequately. I am, but Nate's a bigtime worrier, so he had to go over everything a million more times. He's listing all the shit he wants me to do (which I've already done, thank you), and right in the middle of this long list, he goes, "Oooh! There's ducks here!" Then goes back to listing his tasks. Hehe:)

At lunch, Ahren handed me an ad from the C-ville Weekly for Macbeth at Shenandoah Shakespeare. He saw that the Blackfriars Playhouse was on Market Street (which is a block away from where I work), but he did not notice that it was Market Street in Staunton (which is decidedly more than a block away from my office). Nevertheless, he wanted to go, and it's not that far a drive, so we bought tickets for tonight. I've never read or seen Macbeth, so I'm very excited, and for the sanity of my theater friends, I'll stop saying "Macbeth" now. Just out of curiosity, though, is it common knowledge among non-theater types that saying the name of that play is bad luck? Ahren thinks I made it up, but I know it's common at least among drama folks. Survey says?

So it's Shakespeare tonight, bridge tomorrow, Pirates of the Caribbean on Friday, then something fun TBA on Saturday with Jer and our Charlottesville circle of friends, I hope...and then Falcon Ridge is in like 2 weeks! EEP!

I have a few pictures from this weekend and the various things that were requested of me last Friday. I'll get to posting them shortly.

Peace.

WTF - you were lobster kneed

Date: 2006-07-05 08:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tolangardh.livejournal.com
I can't believe all that red went away so fast. - Happily I have just a brace on my wrist as of this morning so I have rediscovered the joys of the elbow that bends.

Date: 2006-07-05 10:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Yeah, Saturday is either canoeing or hiking. I don't know the forecast yet, 'cause I'm a loser like that. But something will be happening. The default is Old Rag, although if it's going to be 90° that's a really dumb idea. So, forecasts will be looked at, plans will be made, etc etc.

Huzzah!

Date: 2006-07-06 12:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bigonbnl.livejournal.com
I haven't been to a Shenandoah Shakespeare show in a long time. I had a blast! I've never heard the Macbeth thing..

Date: 2006-07-06 05:43 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] donnagirl.livejournal.com
omg! Yeah... Shenandoah Shakespeare is currently running MacBeth, As You Like It, AND, AND, The Tempest!!!

all of which I want to see... and, when I figured it out was hoping you could meet me. :D hee.

<3

Date: 2006-07-06 12:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Absolutely! I <3 Shenandoah Shakespeare!

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:36 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios