jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
The whirlwind continues...
Ahren left yesterday after lunch, so our house is one person less crowded, though still about 5 over the suggested maximum occupancy. That's okay, the roommates are great and I wouldn't have it any other way. Jer and I decided to do a date night, which started with the two of us playing on BBO for an hour after I got home from work. He plays really slowly, and I don't have much patience for that, so we quit after 8 or 9 boards and were going to go out to dinner when Brendan stopped by our room, wanting a ride to 7-11 for free slurpees. We invited him to dinner with us, and Matt tagged along, too, so our date night took on a little twist. We ate at the Ming Dynasty, then went to Best Buy because I decided to buy the first season of The Office (BBC version), which I've been told by dozens of people that I will love. The bastards didn't have it, but I went there to buy DVDs, and dammit, I was going to buy some DVDs. I raided their $9.99 special and came home with Fast Times At Ridgemont High, Saved!, and Zoolander. We also went to the ABC store, where I loaded up on airplane size liquors, because much like puppies and kittens, I can't resist their adorable tininess. Last stop 7-11, then home, where I pretty much fell asleep immediately. It was before 9, that's all I know.

This morning, I couldn't find any of the clothes I was looking for, so I grabbed some random articles and hit the shower. (TMI alert) I've been doing the commando thing for a while now, whenever possible really, and it certainly has its advantages. Underwear was always the first thing I'd run out of, thus requiring a load of laundry, but going without postpones the unpleasantness of laundry day a little while longer. And it certainly is more comfortable. The only problem is, now all my pants fall off. Yeah. I guess the little devils *are* good for something - friction. I thought my ghetto booty was what was holding my pants up, but I guess there's more to it than that. The ironic thing is, when I was a child, I thought the reason people wore underwear was in case their clothes fell off, their private areas still wouldn't be exposed. Hah.

Falcon Ridge is a week from today! Yay:)

Peace.

Date: 2006-07-12 01:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bigonbnl.livejournal.com
Well, ya know.. having your ass hang out of your pants is quite fashionable these days.

Date: 2006-07-12 09:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
EW EW EW NO BUTTS!

You see what I mean about this weird societal hangup?

Although honestly, plumber's crack is a bit gross. Either pull your pants up or just take the damn things off. Don't be halfassed about it.

:-D

Date: 2006-07-12 09:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Good pun. I make damn sure I don't expose myself. I mean, I like going commando, and I'll talk about it all day long, sure, but I'm still a very modest person!
(deleted comment)

Date: 2006-07-12 03:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Yeah you do! Whenever you're ready, let's plan a viewing:)

Date: 2006-07-12 09:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Most of the pants I wear are jeans, and I would really not want to have rough jean-fabric up against my nether parts. Oww! Maybe if it was an old pair of jeans. And I could see it with soft pants. But just ow.

I'll agree with the spirit of your post, because I don't always wear bras. Underwear Liberation Front!

I don't know. Why do people wear underwear? I can see it for dudes--you've got to hold yourself in, unless you're really adept at avoiding squishing. And as I mentioned earlier, some pants are not good for going commando in. And if you're really active, and wear skirts a lot, it's just polite to wear underwear so some unsuspecting person doesn't see "too much" of you. (Stupid societal focus on genitalia.) And I suppose it might slow down a rapist. (Maybe the layers and layers of petticoats were really self-defense?) And bras are just pointless, although I guess as a AAA (or whatever) I'm coming at it from a different perspective. ;-) I guess I can see the utility for some better-endowed women. But then why don't dudes with man-boobs wear bras, if it really is all that painful to go bra-less? (Besides societal scorn and all, that is.)

Anyhoo. Yay FRFF! See you next week!

Date: 2006-07-12 09:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Jeans aren't that uncomfy commando, really. And dudes who wear boxers aren't really holding themselves in that much - maybe it's a chafing thing for them. I go braless a lot, but it's kind of unflattering in some clothes, and also I feel like it gives a little too much insight into what I look like in the flesh, so I prefer to wear a bra out of modesty. And of course I wear underpants with skirts.

Date: 2006-07-13 01:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Right! I was going to mention boxers and how they don't fulfill the "holding-in" function, but I forgot to.

All hail the Little Pants! (Isn't that what Carolyn called them?) There's an article about this on Slate.
(deleted comment)

Date: 2006-07-13 08:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Is "sock monkey" a euphemism for penis?

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:23 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios