(no subject)
Jul. 15th, 2006 08:14 amToday is
archwindchaser's 26th birthday! I have a present for him, but I don't *have* it, so it's a surprise. Though I bet he'll figure it out. We're going to McGaheysville this morning to pay our mortgage and meet his folks for birthday lunch at Romano's. It's going to be a long day. I woke up early on account of a terrible dream, and all this running around will hardly be relaxing...then Southern Culture on the Skids tonight, which I am very excited about. Hopefully their shirts won't be too expensive, because it's a law in Megworld that I have to own shirts for every band I've ever seen live - and I wouldn't dream of being one of those posers who wears a shirt she ordered online. I only ever buy them at the shows. Why? I dunno, maybe it's because I'm HARDCORE. A hardcore folk fan. Yeah, that's me.
Well the thing is, if you can, you should always buy merch at shows. The more a band makes at a particular venue, the more likely they'll be invited/want to come back. And if you're ever hung up about which album to buy, always go with the newest one - it's good for the band that way b/c it tells their record label (indie or no) that people are still interested in new material for them, and please continue putting out records for us, thankyou. The flip side of this argument is that a lot of venues take a cut of the profits, but I still think in the long run it's better for bands to sell stuff at shows than online - am I wrong about this? I know many of you are in the know on this one.
phantomsmom?
hope_persists? Anyway, I fully expect to leave this show with a pile of swag, because, for shame, I don't own any already. I've never so much as listened to a CD of this band. This is rare for me - usually I won't buy concert tickets unless I've seen the band before - either at a fest or as the opening act/cobill with another favorite of mine - but I know exactly *one* SCOTS song, which is great, btw, and I'm going to this show based solely on that one song tells me about them. The song is "Camel Walk," and I think it's like ten years old, but
virgopoet knows them pretty well and I trust her recommendations. Also, she came to Girlyman with me without having seen them before, so it's like I owe her. Not that she would hold me to it, but I want to go.
Wow, what a stream of consciousness. My point was, if I like this show, and I'm confident I will, I'll probably buy at least one CD and a shirt. Plus, it's Jer's birthday, so we'll spare no expense on cocktails. And then tomorrow, finally, I'll get to look at a day where I don't have to go to work, drive anywhere, or do anything. And I will finish my book. Yay.
Peace.
Well the thing is, if you can, you should always buy merch at shows. The more a band makes at a particular venue, the more likely they'll be invited/want to come back. And if you're ever hung up about which album to buy, always go with the newest one - it's good for the band that way b/c it tells their record label (indie or no) that people are still interested in new material for them, and please continue putting out records for us, thankyou. The flip side of this argument is that a lot of venues take a cut of the profits, but I still think in the long run it's better for bands to sell stuff at shows than online - am I wrong about this? I know many of you are in the know on this one.
Wow, what a stream of consciousness. My point was, if I like this show, and I'm confident I will, I'll probably buy at least one CD and a shirt. Plus, it's Jer's birthday, so we'll spare no expense on cocktails. And then tomorrow, finally, I'll get to look at a day where I don't have to go to work, drive anywhere, or do anything. And I will finish my book. Yay.
Peace.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-15 04:12 pm (UTC)The thing about merch that's tricky is... bands make the most money from sales at the shows.
But sales in other arenas give the bands more publicity, and therefore possibly more respect/collateral from their labels/managers/agents etc. The people who fund the bands like to see that other people know about them besides the 200 people in Ann Arbor. Capise?