jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
I saw a bumper sticker today that said "Guns save lives! 2.5 million defense uses last year." Hmm...ok, and how many of those 2.5 million uses were necessary? How many people died because of them? How many more than 2.5 million people died last year because of gun accidents or intentional firing? If people don't have guns, they'll find other ways to defend themselves. In the meantime, we won't have 2 year olds accidentally shooting their 6 and 4 year old siblings to death when they find a gun in the house. Needless to say, I really wanted to leave a note along these lines on that guy's car, but I was wearing my work uniform and I don't need to be starting shit...he might shoot me.

I'm breezing through my diamond certification. What I've completed so far is supposed to take the average student six months. I opened the materials four days ago. I was talking to Christina today about doing all the gem certification while working with Cheri and Randy so I can become a graduate gemologist. She said, "Meg, that's a lot of stuff. I don't think you're going to be sticking around here long enough to make it worth your while." Let's think about this...it took Cheri 3 years to complete all the classes at a normal pace. The way I'm going, I could be done with all of it in less than one year. I've already agreed to sign a three year contract with ADF. The training is paid for by the Dixons. With this training (which, remember, costs thousands of dollars but is being paid for by my employer), I will be qualified to work in gem labs all over the world or travel the globe to do buying. Let's see...is that worth my while? In a nutshell, yes. I like Christina, but she's older than me and I think she's realizing that she's not going to get into nursing school (already been rejected twice and is failing two classes at Blue Ridge right now) and that she's probably stuck at ADF for the next long time. That means once I'm certified, I'll be her superior, and I don't think she's down with that. Whatever, if you can't pass a simple stats class, you shouldn't be managing a business.
Step back. That sounded bitter. Matt thinks I'm PMSing. Maybe. Truth be told, I really like Christina. She's really nice, but I can tell that she either doesn't respect me or is jealous of me...the owners always come to me first for advice and I think that bugs her. It would bug me too if I were her, though. Plus I get to do all the shows and no one asks her. Matt and I always have a blast and she's stuck in the store...so I can understand how that would make her sore. Do I think she'd be a decent manager? Yeah, I guess. Do I think I deserve it more than her...probably....

Wow I am definitely in a worse mood than I thought. Anyway I'm excited about what's to come with my job. I don't know what the future holds, but I'm feeling better and better about where I stand now. Ben's right. Life is good. All the pain and shit you ever feel is countered by the fact that there's food on the table, air in your lungs, and friends around you. I am happy, really.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios