jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
My mother convinced me yesterday that I should go to her bridge class/game in the evening, not because I need the lessons (I'm much more advanced than what she is covering right now) but because it would be fun and I could help her set up and stuff. Okay...I agreed to go. I feel like I owe my mom a lot right now so it's in my best interests to do what she wants me to. She taught a 20-minute lesson and we started the game by 7:30. At 10, when the game ended, we'd played 9 boards. We had a 3-board sit out, but still...12 boards in 2.5 hours? Yeesh. My partner was a very nice gentleman named Ron. He passed a takeout double at 1H (which made 4), but other than that, we did well. In fact, we won. But what do you get for winning a 12-board match? .30 black. When I moaned about that, my mom was like, "Well, just think of how few boards you played. That's not bad." I said, "Sorry Mom, I was just thinking how many minutes I played." There was one guy in the class who totally rubbed me the wrong way. He'd never been before, and he'd been teaching himself on the internet. He thought he was just the cat's meow, when really he was just a big dumb oaf. He kept trying to instruct my partner and his, and it was all I could do to keep from screaming when I said, repeatedly, "Can we please just play this hand?" Ugh. He held up the game so much with his "instructions." What a dick. He kept saying things like, "When I play, that means..." and I'm like, "YOU'VE NEVER PLAYED BEFORE!" Moron.

On the way home, I was telling my mom about my insomnia. It's been close to three weeks now since I've slept through a night. Usually I'll take forever to fall asleep, then when I do, I'll wake up after only a few minutes, take forever to fall asleep again, and basically repeat this cycle all night, so that between 9pm and 7am, even though I've been in bed the whole time, I've maybe collected 2 hours of actual sleep in that whole span. And that's on a good night. The conversation went like this:

Mom: You're coming to the mountain after work tomorrow, right?
Me: Ugh. If you think I need to. I really don't want to because I need to try and sleep.
Mom: Why?
Me: I have insomnia. I've told you about this.
Mom: Then you shouldn't be driving.
Me: I know.
Mom: But you'll come to the mountain, right?
Me: I guess. If I can keep my eyes open.
Mom: You should take sleeping pills.
Me: I'd rather not. You know what used to work for me was bourbon before bed. Do we have any liquor?
Mom: Of course not. You don't want to do that anyway.
Me: Why not?
Mom: You'll get addicted!
Me: But sleeping pills are a good idea?
Mom: At least they're legal.
Me: You do know I'm 23, right?
Mom: Oh yeah.


So I guess I'm going to the mountain after work today. But have I mentioned that I REALLY don't want to? I just want to go home and sleep. After stopping by the ABC store to pick up some bourbon, that is...

Peace.

Insert Comment

Date: 2006-08-26 03:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] goldilox369.livejournal.com
this sounds like a convo. my mom and me would have had...
Me: I'd rather not. You know what used to work for me was bourbon before bed. Do we have any liquor?
Mom: Of course not. You don't want to do that anyway.
Me: Why not?
Mom: You'll get addicted!
Me: But sleeping pills are a good idea?
Mom: At least they're legal.
Me: You do know I'm 23, right?
Mom: Oh yeah.
Reality Check :
  • It's also 2006, not 1936...
  • alcoholism takes a while to set in...whereas non addictive pills...
  • who cares?! legality shouldn't have popped up in this conversation to begin with, mother!


  • Profile

    jianantonic: (Default)
    Meg

    February 2019

    S M T W T F S
         12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    1718192021 2223
    2425262728  

    Most Popular Tags

    Style Credit

    Expand Cut Tags

    No cut tags
    Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:09 pm
    Powered by Dreamwidth Studios