jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic


I played bridge again last night, and extended my winning streak another night. I ended up playing with my mom's regular partner, Ann, who is going to be my new regular partner. My mom and I are going to tagteam to teach another round of Easybridge starting in October. The lessons will be at the same time as the regular Thursday night game, and then when the class ends after 16 weeks, we'll just shove all the students into the regular game. We're going to alternate teaching weeks, and one of us will play with Ann each week. So last night was my first time ever playing with Ann. She plays pretty much the exact same card that I play, so that was nice, but I was still jittery during our first round because I didn't want to let her down...she had expected to play with my mother and we kind of sprung the switch on her by surprise. Well, on the very first board, I showed my hand to be far too weak, and we only got to 3NT when we were making 7 cold. My bad. Then on the next hand, Ann was way too aggressive and we went down 3 doubled. Her bad. I was glad she fucked up, though, because it settled my nerves. I had one more major booboo later in the night, but I caught myself as soon as I did it and it ended up okay. (I'm second seat in this auction with J x AKJxx AKJxxx, and RHO opens 1H. I'm supposed to bid 2NT there, but I accidentally mixed up Michaels and Unusual 2NT and bid 2H. LHO bids 4H. My partner hesitated a long time, wherein I thought she was going to bid 4S and I freaked. But she bid 5D. RHO doubled, all pass, I apologized profusely for the wrong bid, but we made six for 950 and a cool top board. Whew.)

Anyway, we were in first place going into the last round, but we had a shitty final and dropped out of first. We still got some points and had a really good game, I'd say, so I'm looking forward to playing more regularly with Ann. She's been my mom's partner for almost 20 years now.


Do I ever shut up about bridge?!
In a word, no. God, I never thought I'd be one of these people!

Anyway, in sleeping news (the other thing I never shut up about), I slept a grand total of ZERO hours last night. The bourbon worked enough to make me want to conk out, but I just couldn't actually leave consciousness behind. At about 3am, I had finally drifted off, and I did one of those lazy, blissful full-body stretches, which, naturally, activated a charleyhorse in my left calf, which had me writhing for what felt like the next hour but what I guess was about the next two minutes. It's still tight this morning. I spent the rest of the morning flipping between Pretty Woman on HBO38 or whatever and Sportscenter. And now I feel like a zombie. But it's the weekend, so all I have to do is get through 8 more hours of uprightitude (I make up words when I'm sleepy) and I can go home and indulge my tiredness however I please for the next 48 hours. Yay.

Thassall.
Peace.

Date: 2006-08-26 03:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oobermeister.livejournal.com
i drove across the mackinaw bridge this past summer. now that's bridge.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 01:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios