jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
Hey there. So I didn't post about this yet, though it truly fascinates me. I am not a Christian. I haven't really ever been one, though I guess you can say I was raised to be one. I've barely been exposed to the Bible at all before this year. No more than anyone else in America, anyway. Anyhow, I'm taking a New Testament class, which I really enjoy. It's not turning me Christian or anything, I just appreciate the scholarly approach. I'm fairly certain that I'm the only person in the whole class of 35 who is not Christian, or at least I am one of very few. That I do know. Anyhow, we had a midterm last week. I got an A. I didn't think it was very hard at all. All we had to do was be able to give examples from the Bible to support what we argued. Easy enough, we've been studying it for 8 weeks now. Well apparently I'm one of two people in the whole class that got an A. The class average was around a 56. 34 Christians in the class and only four or five of them can muster enough knowledge of the first three books of the Bible (that's it! it was only on three books!) to get a passing grade on what this non-Christian considered an easy test. That is FUCKED UP.
What's more fucked up is that when I told Christina at work about this, about how I couldn't believe these people who call themselves Christians can't pass a test on the Bible (even after we've been studying it for a long time), she's like, "Well I'm Christian and I'd probably fail."
Me: even if you took the class and studied it for ten weeks?
Christina: probably.
Me: How can you be a Christian if you don't know what the Bible says? Isn't the Bible the source of your belief structure?
Christina: not really.
Me: but you're a Christian?
Christina: of course.
Me: You're retarded.
Ok I didn't say that last thing. But seriously! If you are a Christian, and you hear me acting all astonished and apalled that the Christians in my class don't know the Bible, and you don't know the Bible, don't admit it! It just fuels the flame of why I hate Christianity as an institution. People who call themselves Christians, in many cases, have no idea what they are talking about! And this test was NOT DIFFICULT AT ALL! I didn't study a lick, and I didn't sleep with the professor, either. It was just obvious stuff. Good lord! Okay now I'm mad again. I just can't believe how pathetic this was....

Jeremy is performing a wedding tomorrow, so I'm going to that with him. Should be fun.

Okay back to the subject of Christina. I said before that I liked her, and only sometimes did she really annoy the tar out of me. That was true, but I haven't really been fond of her since then, and I'm well past PMS. The other day she said to me, "I'd be pissed off if you were made manager over me, because I'm older and I've been to more school." My silent reaction was, "Yeah, you're 26 years old and still working on an associate's degree. You've been to more school because you keep failing shit and having to repeat it. I'm 20 and I'll be graduating with a bachelor's degree, and I'll be done with all my GIA certification before you ever get into nursing school. Bitch." But what I actually said was, "I understand." Then I went back and talked to Matt about it, and I felt better when he told me he really hates her lately, too. Matt never lets anything or anyone bother him, so if he's been annoyed then I feel more justified and less bitchy. But I should chill, I guess. It's not like she'll get into nursing school, and I will probably be working with her for a while. Sucks for her, though, cause Mike told me yesterday that he wants me to manage the store full time when I graduate...aww:) Hehe.

Anyhow I am going to go fill my tummy. Or at least put some nasty crap in it that I won't enjoy. Hooray for Chartwells.

Peace.

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios