jianantonic: (Default)
[personal profile] jianantonic
As you may recall from my journal around 9/23/05, that was the last time Tracy Grammer and Jim Henry were in town. [livejournal.com profile] donnagirl had come up from southwest VA for the show, and Tracy and Jim took the two of us out after the show. That night has since come to be known as "the most memorable night of my life." And I didn't even lose my virginity to anyone there.

Last night, Jim and Tracy returned to the Gravity Lounge, so of course I went to the show. Adam came along with me, and even though I didn't think it was really his scene and he said he'd probably only stay for the first 45 minutes or so, he got really into it and stayed for the whole thing. I was quite pleased. And of course, it wouldn't be a folk concert in Virginia without an appearance by The Namedropper. You may have read my complaints about this woman before. She gets on my last nerve. She forces her way into conversation with anyone she thinks may be "in" with the band, or with people who are, and then drops names all evening. It's kind of sad, though. Her definition of "a good friend of mine" is someone she "waves to when she passes them on the highway." Man, I have a lot of good friends. It's just that her stories are so silly and pointless, except of course for the point of dropping the names. For those of you who weren't among my readership last year, let me share a little story.

I first remember seeing The Namedropper at the Tracy Grammer show last year. Donna and I were waiting for Jim and Tracy to finish packing up so we could go out somewhere, and The Namedropper approached Tracy on the stage, gave her a basket with some dish towels in it, talked for a moment, and left. Then we all went out and did our thing, it was awesome, blah blah blah. Two weeks later, I had my first personal encounter with The Namedropper at a Dar Williams show. It was a standing room only show, so I'd gotten there super early so I could be up front. So had she, and with all this time before the show started, she talked my ear off. I think in the hour that she talked to me, she broke a world record for most annoying conversation. The best part, though? She asked me if I was at the Tracy Grammer show. I said yes. Then she proceeded to tell me about how she was hanging out with Tracy after the show. Please, woman. I didn't see you at our dinner table;) I didn't call her BS, though, I just wrote about it in here and told all my friends. I did, however, at one point in the evening between sets, yell to Jeremy "God, she's such a fucking namedropper!" (I had had a drink or two at this point.) I don't know if she heard me or if she knew I was referring to her.

ANYWAY, fast forward to last night.
After the show, I asked Tracy if I could return her favor of last year and take her out somewhere when they were all done. She said that would be great, so I grabbed a copy of The Hook and read in the back by the merch table while she finished packing up. The Namedropper was back there, talking Jim's ear off as he tried to calculate merch sales. She was going at it, dropping names like hot potatoes for at least 15 minutes, when Tracy came back to gather Jim and the last of their things. Namedropper asked if they could grab a bite together, but Tracy was all sorry, no, we're going out with a friend of ours that we haven't seen in a long time. Okay. That was really sweet of her to say. I am under no illusion that I am in any way tight with Jim and Tracy. But it felt nice. As Namedropper was leaving, she saw me waiting and asked me what I was up to. "Just waiting on some friends," I said. Since Jim and Tracy were the only people left in the whole Gravity Lounge at that point, I think it was clear. Heh.

So anyway I took the two of them to the X Lounge, which is great, by the way, and had a really wonderful time. They're very sweet people, and it was great to spend time again with two people I look up to and admire almost more than anyone else in the world. At the end of the night I thanked them, saying that I know it's just another night in their life as musicians, but it means a lot to me to get the chance to really hang out and be a part of their world if only tangentially.

So now I have a new most memorable night of my life. And I didn't lose my virginity to anyone there last night, either! Oh, and the show was great, too. I always well up at Tracy Grammer shows, usually because of Dave Carter, but this time I cried when Jim Henry sang "1952 Vincent Black Lightning." Man, that blew me away.

Anyway, I know that I'm a total hypocrite now, because this whole post is me namedropping for the sake of bitching about a namedropper. But you know what? I actually DID hang out with the band. I didn't just wave to them on some highway. Eat it, Namedropper. ;)

Yeah...best night ever.

Now I just have to get through the day at work and I've got bridge all weekend, DI Monday, training on Tuesday, then MOVING OUT OF MY PARENTS' HOUSE FOR THE LAST TIME on Wednesday. Rah!

Peace.

Date: 2006-12-01 02:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] duhpens.livejournal.com
yeah Jen and I have experienced that type of person. It's really annoying. Not that we are IN with anyone. But damn at least we don't pretend to be either.

But it was realy cool a few weeks ago when a band was in town from DC and I met them at the Hard Rock before their set to have a beer. We got there at the same time and when we walked in, the bouncer was getting ready to charge me the cover charge. And two of the guys was like, "Oh no - she's with the band." Hah!!

Date: 2006-12-01 04:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meerasedai.livejournal.com
Sounds like quite the folk groupie, this name-dropper. :-P

Sorry I didn't show; I fell asleep on the couch, haha.

Also, when did you see Dar Williams? She's definitely my favorite artist of all time. I've seen her twice and would totally see her again.

Date: 2006-12-01 04:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
I've seen Dar 3 or 4 times, but that particular show was at Starr Hill last October with Girlyman opening. That was the beginning of the end of my Starr Hill days. I hate that venue. I'll still go when my favorites pass through but I wish they'd play somewhere else.

Date: 2006-12-01 04:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] meerasedai.livejournal.com
Haven't been to Star Hill. Why do you hate it?

I've seen Dar twice in the DC area, both at the Birchmere.

Date: 2006-12-01 04:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
Well, it used to be really good. But then they changed management and it started to suck terribly. The last three shows I've seen there have had horrible sound. They don't have seating at the shows anymore (sucked when I had a broken foot, and I also like to be able to both sit and see the show - do you really need to have a standing show for a folk concert?). When I was there in July, it was 104 degrees outside, the show was two hours late getting started, and they made everyone stay outside in the heat waiting, then when we got inside, they didn't have A/C on and they charged $4 for water at the bar which wasn't even cold. They don't enforce their no smoking policy. Their prices are four times higher than any other venue in town. And I've heard from a few bands that they don't treat them very well there, either.

And the service at the cocktail lounge downstairs is the shittiest I've ever had.

Date: 2006-12-04 04:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Hoorah for moving out! Good luck with things!

Date: 2006-12-04 04:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
Also, once you're moved in to your new place, I don't suppose you'd want the popup book, to use as a room divider or something, or anything...

?

Date: 2006-12-04 04:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
oh yeah! I totally want that!

Date: 2006-12-04 04:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jianantonic.livejournal.com
btw...still haven't heard from your folks about the video. Have you? I have a meeting tomorrow...

Date: 2006-12-04 10:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] flamingophoenix.livejournal.com
I thought my dad replied--maybe he just replied to me, not reply-all? I'll send it along.

Short answer: No.

I'll see what I have in teh archives up here...

Profile

jianantonic: (Default)
Meg

February 2019

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
1718192021 2223
2425262728  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios